How To Live The Laptop-Lifestyle Part 1

in #money8 years ago

After having some nice comments on my last post (thank you guys!), I decided to write some articles about living the laptoplifestyle.

As I already mentioned all started with reading the 4hour workweek.

After that I googled for passive income and I found Pat Flynn: http://smartpassiveincome.com
This guy presents his monthly earnings and by that time it was about 50,000 $.

Wow - I was shocked and I could not believe it. It must be fake I thought.

In his income-report you can see that most of his money came by a partnerprogram with bluehost. Actually it is about 60,000 $ right now. When I read his report it was 30,000 $.
OK.
It was clear, that I could never reach so many people AND make them buy a hosting with bluehost.

So I checked something else.
He wrote many articles about making a website for security-training and monetize it with adsense. Finally he earned 2,000 $ per month just with clicks on ads from google. After creating the site he never touched it again for months and the income comes automatically!

Crazy - I thought, that guy is lying. I couldn't believe, that users are so dumb to click on ads!?
But I was motivated to try it. Maybe just to prove that this guy is not telling the truth.

I'm lucky because I'm able to make websites by myself so I started many projects with nearly no costs.

When you start a website for making money use this tool

Before I started one, I checked with market samurai, if the market of my project is small but lucrative for advertising.
You can find the program here:
http://www.marketsamurai.com/c/Philipp
(This is an affiliatelink; I earn a little provison when you buy with this link ;)

Pat has many articles for finding out the right topic for a good website and using marketsamurai:
http://www.smartpassiveincome.com/niche-site-challenge-duel/

How did I chose my topic?

When you start a website (or a business) you have to find out, what kind of things you like. Not the market - this comes later. This is because you have to take care for it for a long time - especially at the beginning. The first year is the hardest.
And if you won't like your topic you won't write great content about it or will stick to it over a long time.

So I made a list:

  • I love adobe-products and developing-websites
  • I had been very thin and gained weight with a great training
  • I love my mac and I know many things about the os
  • I use Joomla (a CMS like wordpress)
  • I know how to work with excel

After that I checked with marketsamurai, if the subjects are good. Most of them were pretty ok.
Some of them had high competition.
Anyway I started with some websites with following topics:

  • gain weight if you are skinny
  • blog for anything todo with software and webdesign
  • a website with free templates for flyer
  • a website with free templates for businesscards
  • a website with free templates for excel
  • a website explaining how to make a design-template for Joomla
  • a website about antivirus for mac

I can tell you, it was lots of work!

After about one year I had some earnings with google-adsense:

  1. Excel: 800 $
  2. Businesscards: 200 $
  3. Flyer: 200 $
  4. Joomla: 30 $
  5. Antivirus-Software for Mac: 30 $
  6. Blog: 10 $
  7. Gain weight: 5 $

I could not believe it - users were clicking the ads!

So I focussed only on the higher-priced ones and made more content.
In 2015 I earned pretty good: 34,074 € (= 37,760 $)

That was a great year, so I decided to start my first english site: A website for excel-templates!

Did you like my first part of "living the laptoplifestyle"?
My english is not so good as I'm from germany, sorry..

But maybe you have got some questions?
What Do you want me to present in the second part?
I thought about telling you the best places for ads on your site..

Sort:  

You could probably make more money blogging at steemit than with Google Adsense.

Everybody is using AdBlock software these days. Actually I don't anyone of my friends who does not use advertisement blocking extensions.

Congratulations @palasmic! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for your good posts, I followed you! +UP

Congratulations @palasmic! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @palasmic! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60782.57
ETH 2381.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64