You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Make Money Blogging on Steemit Top Tips and Checklist for Better Results!!

in #money7 years ago

Very thorough and solid post. I only pick on the points I don't like. (Such is my regrettable nature.)

"Basically, go into my wallet and follow anyone who’s name is blue and gave me money."

Follow a bunch of wallet spammers/scammers, ok...

"Why wait until days after the post is posted?"

The only reason to wait days to curate your comments is that you want them to be a graveyard that nobody will see or reply to.

Comment curation happens 15 minutes after you post. The longer you wait, the worse the effect. Within a day, everyone is gone and few will see your replies or your votes for them, and the social capital is wasted.

Sort:  

I've revised the first point in later posts. If you look in my wallet you will see few of those people. This is the consequence of starting in such a complicated place with little guidance.

My late comment curation is working very well. I'm still getting comments on this post months later as you are a good attestation to right now. As @jerrybanfiled has shown - most reads of your posts (a vast majority) come after the 7 day payout. This is true for me in many of my posts that are "how to" in nature.

I also never vote until after the 30 minute window now. Too much stress and bot competition. I will let others enjoy playing beat the clock, but I am out of that game. My curation rewards are way up, so I feel good about that decision.

I'm here for the Alexa ranking and improving my social media presence. The interaction with the 5000 active steemers is needed to succeed here, but the gold for me is out with the billions of other who have not yet succumbed to the charms of the place. For me - this is one of the fallacies of the place - leading new bloggers to think that only the first hours of a post matter when actually the future is more important.

Glad you like the rest :)

"I'm still getting comments on this post months later as you are a good attestation to right now."

It's thanks to your active link to this post in the comments of the trending thread. Also, I'm weird. I get the occasional old comment, but the bulk of your comments really do come in during the first couple hours. You should curate comments then AND when you suggest. I try to get to every single one.

"Too much stress and bot competition. I will let others enjoy playing beat the clock, but I am out of that game."

Word. I dig it.

"My curation rewards are way up"

You get monster curation from truly unrewarded stuff. If it's got like 1 vote, a big vote gives back like 25%.

"Glad you like the rest :)"

I even like the faucet suggestion as an interesting idea. I assume the roi is very low, but I was being a bit snarky.

I drop this link to help minnows all the time. i have been told to ignore than and "suck up to whales" but that is not me direction right now. I'm glad you took a look even though you are past this point.

I'm in abh12345's curation league and have learned a lot there. It might be up your alley.

On the faucets - free is free!

"i have been told to ignore than and "suck up to whales""

It's phenomenal advice if you are a sociopath. It simply prioritizes your 100% game-theoretical self-interest.

The thing is, they aren't mutually exclusive. I try to help with every whale project that I can, but I also reply to every minnow question and have 150 minnows or more on my autovoter. It's gotten to the point where I have to randomly pause to maintain VP, which makes it a fun raffle each day to see who posts when it's turned on.

But, when you create content, you have to decide your goal. If it is rewards on Steemit, you have to prioritize issues that are at least relevant for dolphins and whales.

A whale with 1 million SP is 10000x the audience of a minnow with 100 SP. That's how dpos works. The whale really is worth 10000x as much. Your opinion is as relevant as your stake, for good or ill.

I decided to stay out of whale world completely and I'm not going back on that. I'm only in projects that seem to need me and the whales don't need me. My ego is too fragile and I cannot stand to read the suck up comments at all. I'm not doing anything for 200 people who lucked into this place last year or bought in since. I'm going for the wider world of the 98% minnows here and the billions on the internet out there.

My two exceptions to date are @jerrybanfield who I followed in here and love like a crazy son and @surpassinggoogle who I know from tsu and am in awe of. I would do anything I could for either one of them. The others - I do not even know their names for the most part since they do not mingle down here in minnow world.

I'm open to meeting any of them and connecting but it's not going to be from me swimming off to investigate. I did a few in the beginning enough to put it on ignore.

I have a handful of friends exclusively sucking up to whales as their strategy. They are all doing very well here. None of them care if steemit succeeds as long as they get money. They do not believe when I tell them it could be gone overnight - we shall see.

I keep my sp over 90% to try to make my votes count - what is your "no longer voting" percent threshold?

Other than steemit tips - my content is already on the internet on 10+ platforms in 3500+ pieces of content on various themes.

My short term goal is to link all my existing content here to take advantage of the steemit alexa ranking which is a gift from the internet gods. My most recent post is doing that. As you can see it's basically a link farm.

Steemit is most definitely driving traffic to my sites and I am so grateful. Everything is up!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63362.14
ETH 2592.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.80