You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't be Funny about Money

in #money7 years ago

You perfectly captured the differences of money right here. A Many-Faced God indeed, but one, I believe we can do without. Oh how I dream of that day when we as a species outgrow the need for it. I just hope that would happen in our lifetime, as I feel that the concept of money is quite outdated. While it's here, might as well just embrace it and not exalt it like it's some kind of divine--oh, wait...

Um, uh... Yes. Great post! Nicely written :D

Sort:  

Haha! Thank you. :) You know, I also used to hope for a day when money was just no longer needed or required... but I could never think of a way in which this was possible.

Now I wonder if in fact it's not money that is outdated, but instead just the concept /reality of not having enough.

Perhaps as humans we will always want to trade... whether it's skills, material things or anything else of value. And money is simply a tool with which to trade.

We need to create a reality whereby everyone has enough to live. And then, trading of money would be all about growing, learning and creating more together.... And, well that would be just great!

I'm speaking only from an idealistic and 'dreamer' point of view. I actually know very little about the world of finance. (Although I'm steadily learning!)

Thanks again for taking the time to read and comment. :)

Yes, I think you're on point there in terms of the concept of trading. Back then, it was just bartering of goods and skills, but when money rolled along, it provided a passive means to trade. My fiancee is actually a financial engineer, so we get into this debate a lot haha! Once everything is automated and a Universal Basic Income is in place, money would just be an afterthought. At least, one would hope. That one being me. And a few others. I hope.

Oh haha, I bet you do!

Yes, I agree. Actually I found out about Grant Coin which is a project trying to build towards providing a Basic Universal Income through their cryptocurrency. I think I found then from a link on one of @luzcypher's posts.

Have you heard of this?

Oh yeah, I do have quite a few Grantcoins. They're in the process of migrating to Manna though. I hope the transition is smooth.

Ah see, so much about cryptocurrencies is still way over my head. I don't know what it is you just said there haha!

Just did a quick Google... so they are changing Grant Coin into Manna? Is that right? I'll have to have a read of some stuff to find out what that actually means!

Yes. Basically, they're migrating to a better infrastructure. They'll have a 1-to-1 exchange for when they migrate to it. So, hopefully, 1 Grant Coin would be exchanged to 1 Manna, without any hassle.

From what I've read, they're changing the way they transact, so instead of using Ekata, they're going to use their own platform, which is great in the long run.

I see, very interesting... I'l be following this a bit more closely I think. It' s truly pioneering by the sounds of it. :)

I do hope that they're successful. There are many initiatives that want to be the UBI solution, but that kind of defeats the purpose. If something wants to be "universal", then it should be accepted as the only solution haha!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62070.52
ETH 2422.73
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64