My bank cards has just been stolen, I can't wait for the near future as our Crypto Wallet is our own banks -

in #money7 years ago (edited)

I have just gone through the terrible experience to have my Bank Cards stolen from my vehicle, which was parked inside my property.. I now have to cancel all my cards, including multiple Credit and Debit Cards, my driver's license, all my store cards etc.


Image Credit

I am sure everybody has their own agendas to survive in the world. Some thinks that taking each others property is the way to survive. Maybe the person who stole my property needs it more than me, but I will never take somebody's property as it is not mine. A thief came onto my property, broke into my car on my property, and stole various things, including my Wallet, a Garmin GPS, my prescription glasses and to top it all my golf shoes.

Why on earth will someone take my golf shoes and leave two sets of Golf Clubs, in the vehicle.

I am lucky to be able to afford insurance, all though the insurance company will probably not pay out the full amount of the items stolen, as everything is not specified on the insurance. The bad thing is that I have to go through the schlep, of cancelling all my cards, and go through the insurance claim, just because somebody decided to take something that does not belong to them. To show you what we have to put up with in South Africa ... listen to this. I arrived at the police station, to report the crime, the police officer on duty had the audacity to ask me:

Why do you leave important items, like your Garmin GPS and your wallet, in the vehicle.

I was flabbergasted with his statement, as I am still of the believe that my property should not be accessed by anybody that I do not invite onto the property. I should not even have to lock my own vehicle, when it is inside the fences on my property. It should be my safe haven.

Let's move a few years into the future.


Image Credit

The great thing about the Blockchain technology and Crypto Currencies is that we will soon be in control of our own destinies, and when your cards are stolen, they are useless to the thief, as each and every one of us will literally be in control of our own banks.

In my opinion we are not far from having digital identities, built on the blockchain technology, and if implemented correctly we should have one login to our online life's. We should have insurance issued by a blockchain, which will hopefully put us in the position, to have smaller excess when we claim.


Image Credit

We should all have Digital Wallets, and we can issue ourselves bank cards, to spend our own crypto money, earned by doing which we enjoy doing, like blogging on Steemit. I believe there will be many more sites like Steemit, where you can earn an income, just like we do on Steemit. It will not only be blogging sites, there will be many different types of sites, like the VIVAconomy where we will generate income.

You will not need to phone a bank to issue your cards. Our Driver's license should be issued by a Government owned Private Blockchain, and when it is stolen like mine is now, I will not have to go stand in a queue, for a full fay, to get a new card issued. The driver license database, should be a global decentralised ledger, which will make it easier, to manage on a global scale, as why do I need to get International driver's license issued, when I travel abroad if we can just all use the same database.


Image Credit

The technology which I described above, are already working and tested, but yet again, the human race are very complex, so even if the technology exists, the difficulty is to implement global standards which are acceptable by everybody.

Sure, everything takes time to implement and I truly hope that I still see the above in my lifetime.

Happy Steeming!


Sort:  

So sorry to hear that! Happened to me once i know the feeling. I really hate lazy people who just think they can just profit from other people's hardwork. There's is a special reserved place in hell for these bastards.

Hope all goes well for you mate!

Crypto for the 21st century is what the wheel was for Egyptian (or earlier) civilisation(s). Power to the people.

Great comment thanks @ericwoelk

Sorry that happened to you, I hope you can replace your stolen things.

Sucks to hear that you had to go through this. Hopefully we will see that the blockchain technology goes mainstream in a couple of years.

I believe we as early adopters of the new technology will have an advantage when it happens :)

Cryptocurrencies wallets are a lot safer, and gennrety better, but it doesn't mean we don't need to be careful.

Indeed 👍🏻

That is a pain. Good luck with the corresponding administrative mess. I guess patience is the only requirement... :(

Thanks a lot. I truly miss living in a country where things actually work. The worst is the drivers license that I have to replace. It is at least a day of queuing :(

I don't know any single country where this works smoothly. At least definitely not in France too!

Wow. I am really sorry that happened. Even if you don't lose money, the hassle to cancel and reissue is never pleasant. I hope it goes smoothly... and we get to a point where bank cards will be obsolete!

Thanks for the comment and yes it kinda sucks. Like I said in another comment, I dread the day when I must go stand in the queue to get a new Driver's license. Our government employees believes that we owe them something. They do not understand the concept of Civil "Servant" they are more like Civil "You serve me" lol it is a total joke 😂😂😂

cryptocurrencies wallets are far more needed for safety measures than regular credit card I think, good posting thanks you ^^

Goed idea!! 100% upvoted from @chanthasam

I tend to agree that they are safer and I'm old school wanting to actually have an object of value in my hand. With this being said, I'm against the idea of implanted chips for any reason, though not mentioned here, but this is where in my mind it will all lead. I just recently had to change passwords and accept new cards due to being on a list for some reason or another that my bank informed me of. A list of people off the web that showed personal info? The process was time consuming and well just a pain in my ass but alas.... I digress. This is the reality we are in these days. Adapt and overcome says I.

I will also think twice before I get chipped :) I guess this is how rumours start 😂,and I also think it is where all will lead 👍🏻

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41