Who Called the Dow?! The biggest non-Super Bowl prediction of 2018!

in #money6 years ago (edited)

Okay, okay, I am bragging, I am gloating. I am begging for attention. But sometimes you are that guy!

Who has two thumbs and cashed out of the stock market the business day before the biggest point decline in market history?

This Guy!

To celebrate I am going to first irresponsibly repost a fake news and 100% fake tweet that is topical (FALSE!) and going viral.

38D78A38-51EB-4A55-94FE-21AF8BA5AA40.jpeg

Here is my playful two thumbs pixabay search.

This guy!
ED9C74A3-FE7D-4AE5-B0EE-AE69C8DABE5A.jpeg
(Couldn’t find two thumbs.)

Last week I talked to my brother and stood firm behind my to-do list of selling stocks while the market was hot. I am not a super organized and competent person. Exhibit A, I have a check from my father for getting presents for my kids for Christmas. Yes I bought the presents, but no I haven’t figured out how to get to the bank to deposit the check (and I need a tutorial and a confirmation from someone in the bank before I do the check app thing). Exhibit B, I have been trying to get a passport for ten years and I simply never complete the process. This is despite the fact that I just had my third interview about an opportunity to work in China next year. Exhibit C: I have a medical bill on my desk that I have been trying to pay for a month, but I am always working when they are open and I just keep trying to follow their instruction online as I get veered into the oblivion of cyberspace.

Sooooo. Wanting to sell my stocks and actually doing it were two different things.

And I DID it last week. And I posted it here on Steemit.
https://steemit.com/money/@jacksonblair/by-by-dow

Unlike the fake Trump tweet this did not go viral. (BUT it IS 100% ReaL!) In part because I am not Donald Trump. @jacksonblair only goes so far. And I am a newbie (one with a little friendly push from @aggroed. (Family in high steem places) And I am posting about the boring stock market in downtown cryptocurrency-land.

But give me a little love. I was actually toggling with my TIAA chef date and thinking I would apply the transaction next month. Instead I clicked next day. My transaction went through on February 5, 2017. And on the next business day, the market shifted down strongly, And money moved into the bond market, where I made my shift.

http://money.cnn.com/2018/02/05/investing/stock-market-today-dow-jones/index.html
http://money.cnn.com/2018/02/02/investing/why-dow-dropping/index.html?iid=EL

So, I clearly am a prescient genius. Get me on the talk show circuit. Hire me on your financial team now. Who else called it down to the DAY!
At the very least follow me and tell all of your friends that you know the guy who predicted the micro crash of 2018.
And truly I hope it is a blip. A lot of crazy stuff happens and a lot of people get hurt when markets truly crash. I’ll take genius for a day. I take luckiest sap in the zip code.

LOL ROFL LMAO

Anything like this ever happened to anyone else out there?

Sort:  

Love the tweet. But I am confused as to what constitutes fake news and real news these days so I’ll assume it’s genuine!!!!

Question... Could steem platform be used to elect government officials?

I am not sure about that, BUT I am certain that we can move toward direct democracy today and STEEM could be a wonderful forum for that. Someday soon I willl pitch my idea for a direct democracy party that is all about direct democracy methods and not about typical party ideology

You have got no excuses man! With tremendous speed. #Awesome Post

Thanks. Appreciate the love!

Congrats! This was a fun read.

My take is that the markets still have a lot of optimism baked in, largely as a result of Trump's tax cuts.Just my $0.02 (literally) -- I think the liberal/mainstream media is having a lot of fun trolling President Trump right about now... He loves talking about how well the market is doing, and this is a great chance for the mainstream media to hit back.

Anyway, one of my favorite quotes from Warren Buffett is the following, "The only value of stock forecasters is to make fortunetellers look good." Genius for a day is easy, but genius for an extended period of time is almost impossible! One of my favorite books of all time is Burton Malkiel's "A Random Walk Down Wall Street." Long story short: monkeys throwing darts at a wall of stocks to invest in can do just as well as professional stock pickers. That's why Buffett always advises to buy and HODL for the long term...

Thanks for popping by. So I am #notagenius ? Damn! I think a lot of the corporate conditions are good right now. I think the value of the market is essentially expected profits in the next 4-6 years. But it has been a long rising ride. And I think many (like me) have been looking for a good moment to move to bonds. Not a get rich quick move, but a cashing in and waiting move. My fear is that financial market jitters could trigger a downturn despite a good climate for corporate profit seeking.

I predicted the housing crash well in advance but I was not as smart as that guy who created his own instrument in order to short sell housing derivatives to be able to profit from it.

Enjoy another resteem. I like posting fake quotes. Only mistake so far is that you didn't invest whatever you sold into crypto at the bottom of this market.

Yeh, I am still figuring out what crypto is and how to use STEEMIT features. After that I will have to learn why and when I use the features. Still a steem baby. Thanks for the RESTEEM!

☺☺☺☺☺☺☺

Congratulations on the timing.

self confidence is most essential !!!!!!!!!!!!!!

self-esteem.jpg

Do you can be a donal trump sometime...????
You are jeniusman if you mean about a problem

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43