Bye Bye Dow

in #money6 years ago (edited)

So I just did it. I moved all of my retirement account out of stocks and into bonds. I simply cannot imagine the stock market not having a bump sometime soon. It isn’t even an anti- #trump thing. The history teacher in me has been looking at all of the periods of sustained upward growth in the stock market and sees that we are near the historic record length.

http://www.macrotrends.net/1319/dow-jones-100-year-historical-chart

The first ten years of starting my retirement account the market ended up being essentially flat. (Start date 2000) 26,000 is an awesome number to be at. I may lose a year or two of very high growth, but I don;t want to risk a crash.

This is in part because my account is going to be valued for a coming divorce. It would be more bitter than my fragile psyche could probably handle to see a 30% drop after having it valued. So . . . It is cash out time for now.

A Scaredy-cat sees his shadow and jumps on Groundhog Day

EE8D249B-0165-42B2-BBCC-94BC0B4CE0EF.jpeg

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 57849.42
ETH 3122.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43