Don't play it too safe

in #money7 years ago

Risktaker?

We are currently on our 90 day challenge of building a Shopify store that brings in 1k revenue a day at the end of the challenge. Preferably before.

For marketing I'm using Instagram influencers. To get underpriced attention of potential, targeted customers.

To save money and see how much bootstrapping I could do, I was willing to offer some of those influencers a cut of the revenue in exchange for free promotional posts.

After texting about 20 of them in my niche, two of them were willing to give it a shot. The other 18 texted me that they don't operate that way, but sent me their prices.

Now, let me tell you about those prices. They are an absoulte bargain! I have yet to test my first ad with one of them, should go live later today, but the money they want is ridiculous. I don't even have to negotiate. I'd feel bad giving them even less money than they want for what I'm gonna get. We're talking about hundreds of thousands of impressions (people who see the post) for six bucks. Six bucks! That is insane. All I heard about this is true. Those pages actually have no clue how much their attention is worth.

Six bucks and I was willing to share 15% of my store revenue with them.

Here's the funny part.

After I shared my offer with them, some of them got back to me and said they are going to make more money by me paying for the posts than if I would share the revenue with them. Haha. If I bring in two sales I'd have to pay them more than six bucks but hey, thank you for making it easy on me.

Some of them had the audacity to tell me they were willing to reconsider my offer after I paid them for the first post and then showed them if people actually clicked the link in their Bio. Haha. You think I'm retarded? If I can keep paying you six bucks, more like four if I buy promotional posts from them in bulk, I'm definitely not gonna share even one percent of my revenue with you.

Don't try to be to safe

Six bucks. Six fucking bucks. That was the price for most of them. The price to say, hey businessowner (I texted them from my personal profile, so they wouldn't know my store, check it online, and get an idea of what's gonna happen) that all sounds fantastic but I'm not gonna take the gamble because six bucks is a lot of money to me. What?!

I mean most of them seem to be from Eastern European countries, but still. If I wouldn't have contacted them they wouldn't have made money anyway. Most people are not risktakers I guess.

Stay awesome and don't fail to build!

Sort:  

These people are awesome

Awesome post, nice strategy, thanks for sharing! :) #keepsteemin

You are so right, to often see are afraid of success and err on the side of caution, as long as you only invest what you can afford to lose, then you will always be okay.

I guess people just want a bird in the hand. I'd always take a revenue share, upside is unlimited.

followed you

Nice post ..i upvoted you plz upvote me!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63706.08
ETH 2615.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82