Why do you need money? What is it that you want?

in #money7 years ago
I've been talking to an increasing number of people that both, need less money to live than before, but end up spending more. I've also met a large group of individuals who are in a race to see if they can stop spending money altoghether. So I can't help but to question my judgment. What is it that I'm doing.

There's this itch

"Once I have enough I'm done". Thats every burglar ever depicted in movies. This logic that we can accumulate an X amount of what ever and from then on, do nothing. I don't buy it.
"It was so cheap", that is also a common thing to say. We buy things because they are cheap. Don't get me wrong if a car is $20 and has a running engine, I also think it is worth it to buy it and make a buck. I think however, that most of the time we use that justification is to rationalize some dumb purchase.
"I have to have it". Another catchphrase. Why? Why do you have to have it? What is the reason? When someone speaks that firmly y tend to think they are not at all sure. I have to have it does not mean anything. The need to have something is not an emotion. There is nothing going on in your body. There is nothing going on outside your body. You don't actually "have" anything.

The inevitability of sharing (read Keving Kelly's book)

What is to have really? Do we even know? I want to write some day about private property and what it can actually mean. I mean, I'm all pro private property, It is just that I don't get how can a appartment in Manhattan be of any use to me if I live in Buenos Aires. I know theres the investing factor, but is it really that smart. How much could that yield? Isnt it sharing more profitable and makes more sense? Can't we take that lesson from Uber and airbnb
Goverments have. That I get. But we all share what they have. The good and the bad.
People with guns have. That I get as well. But beyond forceful relationships I don't see how "having" doesn't have a much lower limit. That is n my opinion why money works that well. "Having" has an infinite potential if we convert everything into numbers that some computers know.

A backpack only move

I like the idea of moving from house to house and leaving everything behind. Most of what I want has nothing to do with what is in the hose anyway. I can take some clothes and my laptop and thats it. Thinking about what I want is not that hard. It is not so unchangeable either. I try to get what I want. Some times that has the money equation attached to it. So I need to get money. I wouldn't like to sleep in the street, or the rain, or the cold. But taking into account that we do pay for where we live, then what is it that we are doing about the things that we do not want to pay for. e.g. Forks and knives

Portable life and fetichism

Our lives have become exquisitely minimalist. A mobile phone is almost all you need albeit you live in NYC, Tokyo, Ankara, Lagos or Panama city. Why is that? How did it come to that. How good are we as a specie to have a complete infrastructure to foster life (and a comfortable one) no matter where we go on the planet.
However. We grasp to stuff. That is a part of what we are as well. We like our knife. We use just one toothbrush at a time. We hover about a chestful of thing that we care for fondly.
Kindle vs Books, why is that even a question? I think it is our fetichism talking.

So then why?

You have a job to pay the rent. To buy for food. To travel. To get healthy if anything should happen. But money. Why money? Is it the potential? is it that it can morph into things? Why is it that we need money.

Get there rowing if you like to row.

I think It is important to have a why. Why is like a destination point. The place you want to get to. Money is never a way or a tool to get there. You always end up doing something with money. Either buying for a ticket, or a car. Maybe pay for training. I don't know. Money never gets you there. Something else does that.
Then, when it is all about the journey, if you like rowing money is never the issue. The problem is that we pick rowing regardless of everything and discover much later, far out in the see, that we don't like it. Only then we blame money.

Sort:  

Money is a tool. This tool is what we have to get to live in this life. Never mind that it holds no value, nor is it value itself. We are striving for money which is the equivalent of holding/saving/working for monopoly money. I've thought about money for quite some time now. If I could I would exchange my time and energy to "pay" for my cost of living. For example, I was thinking, if I could exchange a certain number of days of work to pay my mortgage, car note, utilities, phone bill etc. I would do it, without the middle man of Money I would do it. My work and time is much more valuable than money could ever be. However, we are stuck in this weird world where working hard for money is normal. We are stuck essentially working for debt notes that we "spend" to "pay off" credit/debt.
Here's a website that I have found helpful in regards to money, debt, creditors and the racket that we live under. You might find it helpful. I know I was blown away by it.

http://annavonreitz.com/

When you get a moment or if you have time give it a peek.

wow, that is a LOT of articles. I'll take my time, in the mean time, have gone deep into de cryptoworld yet? If you did, doesn't it fit into this view of the world?

I have not gotten into the cryptoworld. . I am just wrapping my head around "MONEY" and understanding that. I don't think I'm ready for the cryptoworld yet. But this may be a silly question, but what are those currencies even backed by? Are they backed by federal reserve notes or some other medium of exchange? If so isn't it just the same thing as "MONEY?"

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.12
JST 0.027
BTC 65022.21
ETH 3560.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37