Retirement Planning: Eliminate/Reduce Subscriptions to Save MoneysteemCreated with Sketch.

in #money7 years ago

As I plan for retirement later this year, I have been reviewing what I am spending money on and how I can reduce spending, every little bit adds up.


Image Source

Subscriptions (Old School)


Image Source

When I was growing up magazines were a way to read about new ideas and products. I remember my subscription for PC Magazine. I looked forward to receiving that 1-pound magazine to read about what's new in the PC industry.

I have subscribed to quite a few magazines and newsletters over the years. During the last decade years I have been letting many subscriptions expire.

Information Age


Image Source

The information age has certainly changed our way of sharing, learning, and interacting with information. Today, information is literally available at our finger tips.


Image Source

Technology reviews are easy to find. If you want to learn or need help with something, you simply enter your request into an internet search engine and you will get a fountain of information. Books, videos, music, travel, photographs, and more can be found for FREE.

Newspaper Subscription


Image Source

One subscription I have kept throughout the years is my newspaper subscription. To learn what is going on locally it served its purpose for many years. I also enjoyed the coupons and advertisement circulars I got each week.

News Available Online

Many newspapers have an online presence these days. Some have paywalls that offer full articles for a subscription to their site. But I have always been able to find all the news of the day online for free, be it globally, nationally, and locally.

Coupons Online

There are various services that offer printable coupons online. This eliminates my need for the weekly coupons in my newspaper subscription.

Advertiser Circulars Online

The Flipp application allows you to browse and carry advertisement circulars with you on your cell phone. I learned about Flipp in this SteemIt post, Do you like saving money? by @jrcornel.

I often use "price match" when I shop to get the best price at Wal-Mart. "Price Match" has been a cost savings technique I have employed for years. With the Flipp application on my smart phone, it is so much easier now.

Dropping My Newspaper Subscription

When I contacted my local newspaper to cancel my subscription they offered me different options to reduce the subscription price in order to keep me as a subscriber. But I was persistent and cancelled my subscription.

My cost savings:

MonthlyYearly
$24.70$296.40

My yearly savings is $296.40. I should have done this much sooner, every little bit helps.

Thank You!

If you like this post, you can upvote, follow, and re-steem this post. Thank you!

Sort:  

'Muricans....

Thanks for the tips

You are welcome!
Have a great weekend,
Steem on,
Mike

This post has been ranked within the top 80 most undervalued posts in the second half of Apr 29. We estimate that this post is undervalued by $2.02 as compared to a scenario in which every voter had an equal say.

See the full rankings and details in The Daily Tribune: Apr 29 - Part II. You can also read about some of our methodology, data analysis and technical details in our initial post.

If you are the author and would prefer not to receive these comments, simply reply "Stop" to this comment.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61497.12
ETH 2932.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62