You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Being in Debt Stinks: Don't fall into the trap

in #money8 years ago

Crazy things are preached about how to raise your credit score! I use credit cards quite often and I always pay them off in full in order to avoid interest on them. My credit score is quite good compared to most people. Although, in all honesty, I do have a bit of debt left over still in the form of student loans. However, as a teacher after 5 years some of the loans can be forgiven and when I reach that point I will be completed down with those loans.

Credit cards do have their perks if they are used responsibly as you can earn money back on them that you wouldn't have gotten otherwise. However, I am surprised that they cut your credit limit once you were making money. This may have been because you were not using them anymore. Although, between college and obtaining a decent paying job my limit was never changed unless I asked for it.

Sort:  

Thank you for your comment! Unfortunately for me, I grew up always being close to zero savings and having to provide for my mother and grandmother later in their life. Debt for me was endless, even after I bought a house for us there would be the "good mortgage debt" then their would be a new replacement furnace and a new roof to refinance for which just added to the monthly bills. It was calamity after calamity that I couldn't even cater to the "keeping up appearances factor" . I never did get to buy a great car or flat screen TVs either. You are right, when I called up the credit cards company stated that they lowered them because I didn't use them but they would raise them. LOL

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59239.68
ETH 2525.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50