Share your First Investment! (Round #2)

in #money7 years ago

In this thread we share our first investment and how it worked out for us.

Capture r2.PNG

I very much enjoyed reading the first round of answers and sufficient time has passed to float this post again (4 months or so). For many in round #1, their first investment was in cryptocurrency, stocks, and for one person it was mice! (link to round #1 answers in link further below).

My First Investment

Although I begged my parents to buy Apple stock in 2004 (declined), my first real investment that I could control was my investment in Facebook in 2012 on the day it IPO'ed. In the short term after the IPO, my investment would have seemed like a terrible investment. For example, over the next year, concerns about the transition of Facebook from desktop to mobile sparked a significant amount of FUD in the market. The stock price cut in half very quickly. But I HODL'ed and Facebook eventually crushed all expectations. Now, 5 years and 5X later only Steem stands in FB's way!

The full version of the story is in the link at the bottom.

Share your First Investment!

Now it's your turn - feel free to share your first investment, including as many details as you wish to share (i.e. how long you have held and how your position turned out for you today).

By the way - it doesn't have to be a traditional investment or even involve money, sweat equity stories are permitted!

To Read Round #1 Stories

I told my full story and others shares their stories in round #1 here:

https://steemit.com/money/@cryptotax/my-first-investment-and-please-share-yours

Disclaimer: This article is not personal investment advice and should not be relied on in making an investment; the author is not an investment professional. This article does not constitute a client relationship between the author and the user. User is solely responsible for any financial or legal decisions made. Do your own research before investing. Past performance is not indicative of future results.

Sort:  

I bought 11 LTC at $60 a piece. I then rode it to about $175 and sold. Now that I have Steem, I'm pretty much investing everything in it.

You got a 2.08% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @cryptotax!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

My first investment was in 1997 when my parents opened a custodial stock account with Ameritrade when I got back from a summer internship with about a $1,000. The first stock I chose was Disney. It was an awesome experience that I cherish to this day although I sold it when the bubble popped in 2000.

i can see you in your lambo :p
Congrats on the success. Holding FB for so long is truly a challenge but well worth the wait.

Haha, I didn't buy nearly enough back then for a lambo but thanks!

@cryptotax Congrats on being an early investor in FB!! My first investment as a millenial was obviously a few hundred in Bitcoin, Ether & Litecoin on Coinbase. These investments fueled my hunger for investing in cryptos and eventually brought me to the realm of altcoins and the crazy swings they go through. The need for stability and passive income brought me to Steemit. And the need for Long-Term Investments to Diversify my portfolio brought me to RobinHood where I am starting to invest in Stocks and ETFs. Cheers Mate! I think regardless of what people think about any specific asset class, they should never place their eggs in one basket and should diversify their risk/reward on different markets.

Thanks for sharing. Good point on diversification!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvote this reply.

Investing in the stock market is not as simple as going into the store to make a purchase. Buying stocks involves setting up a brokerage account, adding funds, and doing

This post has received a 4.52 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @cryptotax.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63184.34
ETH 2560.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.72