How I doubled my salary in 6 months – Part 1

in #money6 years ago

DQmcFfEZBy381RAsc15Pvag3Gv7B42bwAgzCvYWEHihELkV.jfif

Hey Steemer!

Do you think you’re currently underpaid?

If you do, then this is for you.

If not, then this is even more relevant to you than you think. I’ve always been very well paid, but I realised that my expectations were just too low.

I explained the context for these articles in the introduction:

https://steemit.com/blog/@cryptocrayze/how-i-doubled-my-salary-in-6-months-the-introduction

Now I’ll move on to the first part in the story. The first point is titled:

Have Clear Goals

Leaving University, I didn’t want to spend time travelling. I mean, I would have liked to but I already met my soon to be wife. I had big plans. In my mind, I needed to save for a wedding, a house, etc. And if you know anything about buying property in London, you know it’s ridiculously expensive. Weddings are no joke either.

Well, I found myself applying for jobs like crazy… I mean, I spent most of my final year dealing with rejections. I went back and forth with some companies for weeks after they rejected me until they gave me a chance.

The thing is, I kept going because I had goals. I had a clear idea what I wanted.

I knew I had 2 years until she finished her studies.
I wanted to save up enough over the 2 years to get engaged and married.
I to purchase a house in East London. I was convinced I didn’t want to rent because it wasn’t a fan of it financially.

These clear goals were essential to my ultimate success. That brings me onto my second point:

Be Resilient

People who get to the top do so through hard work. Don’t ever be deceived. A lazy man or woman won’t suddenly find themselves flourishing. It takes time.

I literally received over 100 rejections for work. I had to start thinking outside of the box. I got a LinkedIn. I started searching for entry level positions and trainee positions as opposed to graduate roles. I perfected my grind.

I had to. I wanted to provide for my soon to be family. I wanted to be dependable. So, I had to work hard. My resilience was ultimately rooted in my aspirations – my goals. Otherwise, I might have stopped because I had nothing that I was fighting for.

I got my first interview within weeks of finish University. I practiced hard and studied the company harder. They loved me and called me back for the second stage the same day and the rest is history.

Conclusion

So before I could make the big bucks, I had to get my foot in the door. Doing this taught me two key things:

  1. Ensure you have clear goals.
  2. Ensure you are resilient.

Next part, we'll speak about the three words that defined me.

Cheers,
@CryptoCrayze

Sort:  


I will upvote and resteem your last blog post free to my 35,000+ followers if you reply with the word, "free". Blog posts over 7 days old can not be upvoted or resteemed. a-0-0

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68145.39
ETH 3732.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65