You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I love crypto, my girlfriend loves social media. How to match.

in #money8 years ago

I recently had this conversation with my girlfriend. Like you: I frequently talk to her about Bitcoin, crypto and technologies. She is not the most technically savvy person but I do my best to explain things in terms that can be understood be those that are less technically inclined. It's best to keep things simple at first then provide more elaboration if interest is shown. You could try to start with the following:

Explain that Steemit is a social platform that rewards contributors for good content by paying them based on the reception by other users. The payments are locked into the platform for an extended period of time but can be used to up-vote other content. The value of the payments can fluctuate over time based on the success of the platform. This creates a self-reinforcing cycle where good content writers are incentivized to keep creating content and to up-vote other good content to make the platform a success. In a sense, the users and contributors are all shareholders of Steemit and are beholden to each other to help increase the value of the platform. Steemit works similar to other platforms and demoing it will go a long way to understanding.

Obviously the above does not explain Steem, Steem Power, powering up (or down), and blockchains. These are all much more technical aspects and can be picked up on once a user has gotten a handle on the platform. The important part is that knowledge of these things is not required to get started. A user simply has to sign up and start contributing! This low barrier of entry into the platform is a huge boon and is what will draw people in.

So... don't drive her insane with the technical aspects. Just ease her into the platform and the rest should take care of itself.

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your comment. I basically used your post to explain what Steemit is to my girlfriend moments ago and now she wants an account to check it out. This is progress! I skipped the blockchain, steem, steem power and all that stuff and went with the route you gave me.

Mark

This sounds all too familiar! Unfortunately my boyfriend was so excited that he decided to lay all the technical aspects on me, which was a bit of a mess if i should add! To be honest i still don't completely understand the entire process, but for the last 2 days I've been steeming i have learned so much! Just by simply reading and being apart of discussions within the community.

And it all started with my boyfriend explaining bitcoin to me ....

VB*

Great reply coopc! A big +1 from me.

I too was easily able to get my SO and family into steemit by not mentioning all the complexities of blockchain and crypto-functions.

Anyone can understand the tipping system and the rest will unravel. I tend to noticed that once people feel a little more "involved" they will begin to invest a lot more time into research.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 57889.17
ETH 3155.19
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42