You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why Im Addicted to Saving

in #money8 years ago

I had a moment a month or so ago... I started to wonder why I was so focused on saving. I would keep pairs of shoes for months or years longer than I needed to, though I had a lot of savings and was saving $100 or $200 more every month.

I live where the cost of living is very low, so low in fact that if (for some reason) my income were cut down to 30%, I could still get by quite comfortably, even though I was only working 20 hours a week. This thought popped into my head: "Why are you so stingy? What are you saving for? Retirement? You're already retired!"

There's an urban myth that I've heard go around, about an old man who lived in a one room shack, who tied his pants up with string because he didn't want to buy a belt. The old man dies, and the lawyers realise that he had a million dollars with his name, with nobody to give it to.

I used to have many customers on the opposite end of the spectrum... Every time a bill or payment was due, they would call the day before and ask for an extension - or they would ring up 5 days after it was due and ask what I could do for them. The thinking seems to go like this: "Doo dee doo dee doo... I have money in my account! I guess I will spend it!" My mind boggled at how these unfortunate folks got through life... If basic accounting were taught at schools, there would probably be a lot less misery in the world.

There seems to be a delicate balance between saving too much and spending too much, and then there's the much more difficult job of wise investment.

Thanks for posting.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54140.93
ETH 2422.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12