You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Season 2017-2018 Week 17 Results | 16W-12L-7P | +1425€ Profit

in #money7 years ago

Identified strongly with your comments about getting too excited or overly depressed. I went through this in poker since I have played much more cards than sports betting over the years. I'm a lot more centered these days, but still have moments of weakness. lol

I've come to realize that I am probably an average player, so this keeps me from getting too cocky when I'm on a winning streak. I know that positive variance will be on my side occasionally. And when I'm losing, I know I'm not that bad, either, and that even when I should win, sometimes I just won't. That's poker, and that's sports.

Live betting is even more volatile, and I have come to avoid it, knowing myself as I do. I have found myself in the past using live betting to try to get even once my initial bet looks less likely to win. Perhaps my discipline will increase over time, but for now, I cast my bets, and I accept the results. No chasing, no correcting, and no negative self-talk.

Its great that you continue to write about your results and your mindset. It's therapeutic and instructive. I appreciate these posts, very much.

Had a great NFL Sunday going 5-0. My sixth and final bet is on the Steelers tonight...

Sort:  

Thanks braveboat and congrats on the 5-0.

I believe writing everything down weekly really helps and is part the reason for the good results so far this season so I'm not about to stop any time soon.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 66631.72
ETH 3487.54
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71