Traveling for free by gaming credit cards on tax day

in #money8 years ago

As an avid lover of cryptocurrency and being an overall cheapo, I thought I would let the Steemit community in on a tip I use each year to score free travel by simply paying for something everyone hates. TAXES.

This tip can be utilized by anyone. So if you’re thinking “Wait I don’t pay taxes! I get a return each year!” listen up cause you’re traveling for free too.   

So here is the tip:  Sign up for a credit card each year that gives you a ton of points for spending a certain amount within a certain time frame and pay your taxes with said card.  

Here is an example for people who have to pay taxes at the end of the year:   

This year I owed $3,200 in income taxes to crusty old Uncle Sam.  

So I opened up a credit card that offered a zero $ initial annual fee and 50K bonus points if I spent $3,000 within 3 months after opening.  

I then paid my taxes with said card which is an option the Gov gives you for a 2.75% fee or $88 in my case. 

Okay so this is where I explain that even though I basically paid $88 in additional taxes, I can utilize the 50K in bonus points I earned for $1000+ in free travel! 

That’s $1000 I’m going to be using to travel to Ireland this year just by paying a bill I was going to have to pay anyway! 

I also plan to close that card before the next annual fee comes around, which is possible to do without hurting your credit by studying what goes into the formula used for your score. There are tons of resources out there on the dos and don’ts for maintaining a high credit score which I recommend everyone study.    

For those of you “lucky enough” to get a tax return each year:   

First of all… stop getting a return!  

I’m sure your thinking “What?!?!” but hear me out.  

Getting a tax return means you paid the government too much in taxes during the year and they have to give you that surplus back. This means you took your hard earned money and gave Uncle Sam an interest free loan to probably use on something stupid like upgraded toilets in the white house! That’s insanity!  

Instead I recommend you search the web for articles on how to use “allowances” on your W-4 and free online tax calculators in order to guarantee you owe just enough at the end of the year in order to game a credit card and get free travel.  

You’re going to have to pay those taxes anyway, get something free out of it! 

This method can also be used on property taxes at the end of the year if you live in one of those states and don’t escrow your property taxes within your mortgage payment.  

Another tip is that if you team up with a buddy and have them do the same thing than you can possibly amass enough points to get free airfare and hotels, etc. 

Hope this was helpful and enjoy your free trip sponsored by the U S of A! 

Sort:  

Congratulations @areallycheapguy! You have received a personal award!

Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit Happy Birthday - 1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

For more information about this award, click here

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Grеаt аrtiсlе!

Congratulations @areallycheapguy! You have received a personal award!

2 Years on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @areallycheapguy! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61940.56
ETH 3421.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49