Story: How I Earned My First Bitcoin

in #money8 years ago

This is my story on how I earned my first Bitcoin, and what I learned along the way. In December of 2013 I downloaded Bitcoin-QT after hearing about the meteoric rise of Bitcoin. At the time the price was in correction from the all time high of 1163 and was at 651. I had missed the train.
At this time I started to visit r/Bitcoin more. I didn’t understand a thing I was reading. It’s like I stumbled across another language, with so many references to concepts that were completely foreign to me. I am by no means a computer expert. My competence level is average.
The highly technical language used in this sub and in the Bitcoin spaces is a barrier of entry to non-tech savvy individuals. But it is also an attraction for people who have a thirst for knowledge. And once you understand the technical side of Bitcoin it becomes more attractive. By its very nature Bitcoin is a self sustaining unit of account that is incorruptibly honest. Reading those words is entirely different from understanding what they mean. And once you do understand what they mean, what Bitcoin means, Attraction Amplified. So after lurking for a while and learning the basics, I came to this simple conclusion. I wanted it. But I honestly couldn't justify out right buying it.
So I set myself a goal. I’ll try earning just .1 bitcoin. Looking back, this took me way too long because I sticked with the faucets and paytoclick sites for way too long. But once I got go my first .1 BTC in February of 2016 I set myself a new goal. To earn one Bitcoin. My first Bitcoin wasn’t going to be mined or bought, but Earned. And 5 months latter I achieved that goal. By doing this I learned so much about the Bitcoin ecosystem.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ammar123! You have received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit
Click on the badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.

Upvote this notificationto to help all Steemit users. Learn why here!

Congratulations @ammar123! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Are you a DrugWars early adopter? Benvenuto in famiglia!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.027
BTC 59944.92
ETH 2307.28
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48