How to be an Extreme Couponer (and save some serious cash) in a few easy steps!

in #money8 years ago (edited)

Do you remember the show Extreme Couponing from a few years ago? That show is actually a fraud, and most stores would bend their policies and ignore the fine print for the free publicity the show brought. The Extreme Couponers featured in the show would have ridiculous stock piles that no one could realistically use, like 200 things of mustard or 900 tubes of toothpaste. The average person definitely doesn't need that much stuff, but I can teach you how to build a small stock pile and save lots of cash through couponing!

I did a lot of couponing when I was unemployed. Through my efforts, we rarely have to pay anything for toiletries and household goods! You can do this too, it's actually pretty easy.

Phase One:
-Start by downloading the Ibotta App. It's a great way to get cash back on things you'd already be getting. It adds up fast!

-Get coupons! Coupons.com is a great place to print out coupons. If there is a particular brand of something you like, go to the manufacturer website and there will often be coupons! If you have access to a Sunday newspaper, there are coupon inserts included each week (except on the week of major holidays).

Pro Tip: If you have time, send a quick email to the customer service department of your favorite brands and products. Let them know what you like or don't like about one of their products. They will often send you high value coupons and/or free product in return!

-Make sure you are signed up for any rewards programs your favorite stores might have. I can load coupons to my rewards card at my favorite grocery store!

Once you have your coupons, go shopping! You may notice that even with a coupon, brand name items are still more expensive than the generic store brand. If you're lucky enough to hit a sale of that particular item, then the coupon still might save you a little bit of money.

If you do these few steps of Phase One, you will definitely be saving money! But, you can save even more with Phase Two!


Phase Two:

Here's where the real money saving begins. Become familiar with the weekly sales your stores of choice are having. If you notice something is on sale that you have a coupon for, USE IT! This is how you can get free items!! Stores like Target often offer gift cards with certain purchases. You can use coupons to cut down the price of items, earn a gift card, and repeat, using the previously earned gift card to pay for the next purchase. You can build up a huge stash this way! Also pay attention to when and if your store is doubling coupons. A lot of local grocery stores will do this from time to time.

Don't want to do the work? There are lots of websites out there that match up coupons and weekly sales! The only work required is clipping the coupons and showing up to the store! I have saved literally thousands of dollars by doing this. It also allows me to purchase extra food and toiletries for shelters and food drives!

Pro Tip: If you're doing a huge money making deal but don't have enough coupons for a particular item (especially if you don't have a Sunday newspaper subscription), CHECK EBAY! People sell individual coupons in larger quantities. Just check the fine print of the coupon, which might limit the amount of times per day, per person you might be able to use it.

Phase Three:
If you're feeling even more advanced, drugstores like Walgreens and Rite Aid offer rewards programs that make earning free and moneymaker items easy. Just like the example I gave with Target, you can purchase something for free with coupons, earn rewards, and use the rewards to pay for more items that earn rewards. This of course is dependent on what's on sale. Black Friday is the absolute best time to do this!

If you've become a pro at couponing, I encourage you to share the wealth! Donate and share items when you can. You'll get a lot of free and discounted toiletries and hygiene products, and there are a lot of people out there who need these things. If you have any specific questions, I'd be happy to answer them! I hope you feel inspired to save some money through couponing. ANYONE can do it!



Sort:  

Great to see you using the rewards for others' benefit, as well as your own! Love the idea of donating excess products to shelters/organizations in need. Under step 2 you mentioned some websites will match up coupons and weekly sales for you - can you list a few? That'd likely be very helpful for someone like me - a fellow deal lover who gets easily overwhelmed by looking for coupons and then checking stores' weekly sales for what I need. Thank you!

Absolutely!! Thank you for your support, I really hoped someone would benefit from this!
My favorite websites are Krazy Coupon Lady and Cuckoo for Coupons. I would also encouraging you to Google Couponing with where you live, and you'll likely find some more local sites. For example, I found a great one for the Portland area where I'm at. In addition to couponing, it's given me ideas for cheap things to do with my family! ANYONE can do this. There was a time when I subscribed to 6 Sunday newspapers for the inserts and would constantly do big roll over deals at Walgreens and Rite Aid. I was able to build up enough of a stash that I don't need to work as hard anymore, and I'll never have to pay for a toothbrush again! :)

Alison--I am a bit disappointed to hear about Extreme Couponing--it really got me fired up over the possibilities of scoring freebies and saving money in general. <<here's my sad face>> But I enjoyed reading your article, and it hasn't put me off couponing in the least--even though I'm just a newbie. P.S. Have you checked out couponmom.com? She lays out the deals almost as good as the KCL--and with a check-off sheet for store deals.

Thanks again.

I still think the show can be inspiring because it does get one fired up about it! I just want everyone to know that it's not realistic. But you can still score lots of freebies! Did you know the Dollar Tree takes coupons up to $1? You can get TONS of free things there! I will definitely check out Coupon Mom, thank you for the info!!

Thank you for the website recommendations! And a lifetime supply of toothbrushes?? Well done! :)

I think that's a bit unfair. I don't know anything about technology or cryptocurrencies, but I do know about couponing and thought it would be very beneficial to those who are trying to save money.

nice post

Thanks for reading it!

Well I finally found this post. A lot of great tips. Although I don't support buying coupons. The rest is awesome. I am an extreme couponer too and love helping others save money. Thanks for sharing the great tips for people that want to save money. Some don't realize just how much can be saved for other things that are really needed.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.033
BTC 64071.08
ETH 2763.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66