Sort:  

Thanks, he definitely helped me to shape my opinion about police. I still don't think they would be necessary in a voluntary community except on a localized basis but I don't buy the line that all cops are bad people. All cops are bad, yes, because they swear to enforce arbitrary laws against non-violent people but there can be descent human beings who for one reason or another thought that law enforcement would be a good way to help people. I think that's a logical inconsistency, but that doesn't make them a bad person. Only actions can do that.

Well, I think that remaining a cop and continuing to enforce those unjust and evil "rules" does call one's character into question and make them, in effect, "bad," as far as their objective actions are concerned. I do agree that some get into the profession to help, but they should definitely get out as soon as possible. Have you seen this video on police in a private law society? It's a winner.

This is a great video going in-depth on what policing might look like in a legitimate, private law society.

As far as police, I would say that insofar as they are enforcing immoral "rules" they are behaving in objectively "bad" ways (if life and peace are held as values), and thus, there really can be no "good cops."

I do agree that some become cops from a place of good intentions, but once they wake up it is my view that if they are truly good people they will speak out and get out.

I agree. The more that cross that thin blue line, the more people realize they shouldn't be exempt from morality. And when they do they should do everything they can to distance themselves from the police state and try to persuade fellow jackboots to do the same.
Thanks for the vid.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58167.06
ETH 2592.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44