Monday Mixtape: Aug 20

in #mondaymixtape6 years ago (edited)

Monday Mixtape Aug 20.jpg

I recently watched the novel-based film "To All The Boys I've Loved Before" on Netflix and wow, I can't even remember the last time I am swooning over a rom-com. I am not really a movie person so I haven't really been watching a lot of movies, not just rom-coms, lately. Spoilers aside, the film is such a feel-good portrayal of one of the best things about high school and college: having crush/es. HAHA!

So, that said, here are 5 songs that make me wish that I have a Peter Kavinsky in my life right now. Enjoy!


1. Lauv - I Like Me Better


I am such an old maid when it comes to new releases that's why I've only discovered this song last year. It was an "okay" song for me when I found out about this, but I guess, this was sort-of the defining song of the film so, of course this will be included in this mixtape. It's such a feel-good song and I like how despite having the simplest lyrics, the song is still able convey that warm feeling of being in love. This song makes you enjoy that dreadful Monday morning as long as you're preparing for the day ahead (e.g. good morning text messages, breakfast in bed, brushing your teeth together, etc) with your special someone.

Swoon-worthy line/s:
"I like me better when I'm with you" (Yes, it's as simple as it gets, yet it means so much more too.)

2. Clara Benin - Easy


Clara Benin is definitely a mainstay in my playlist now because this woman is such a brilliant story-teller. For example, the song "Easy" is basically a story about how a girl feels towards a guy who seem to be sending mixed signals. While this is leaving the girl all struggling, I think the thrill of trying to find out if the guy is just innocently that irresistible or is intentionally flirting is making the girl confused yet excited at the same time. I can imagine Lara Jean Covey singing this as she tries to figure out what Peter Kavinsky's deal is.

Swoon-worthy lines:
"Is it just me? Tell me, is it just me?
The way your eyes move around the room and back at me
"

"Why do you do this? Do you even have a clue?"

3. Reese Lansangan - Home


Reese Lansangan is one of the up-and-coming artists in the Philippines and I have to stay, the world better not sleep on this woman. Such a genius story-teller. OPM is blessed to have her! "Home" is the first love song that she has ever written. Sometimes, you can hear some Taylor Swift feels when you listen to "Home", which is unsurprising since Reese is a fan of Taylor Swift. I don't think Home is her best song lyrically, but since this song is one of her most famous songs, most people only know about this song. The moment I heard this song, I literally missed that feeling of being in love. Successful attempt, then.

Swoon-worthy lines:
"My bones are safe
And my heart can rest, knowing it belongs to you"

"My world is changed
And it's cradled by the comfort that is you"

4. Jason Mraz - Quiet

Okay, it is not a secret that I am a huge-ass Jason Mraz fan because this guy possesses everything I like in music, I swear! Quiet, for example, is one of my go-to songs when I need to convince someone into liking Jason Mraz and so far, I have not failed yet. It has been 4 years since the Yes! album has been released but I am still so mindblown with everything about this song. The addition of Raining Jane in this song is a nice touch too. I don't think I will ever get tired of this song.

Swoon-worthy lines:
"I will hold your hand
And watch the world spin idly around this life we're in
Everything goes quiet when it's you I'm with"

"There are no words when I'm with you"

5. Jason Mraz - Let's See What The Night Can Do


While Jason Mraz has already been playing the song "Let's See What The Night Can Do" for years, it is only officially released this year in his latest album Know. This song is reminiscent of Jason's other beautifully-written love songs like Quiet and Love Someone. When one has heard of Jason Mraz, it is almost always impossible for one to get just enough of his music. How does he do it, getting even better and better at writing and not ever losing that magical flare that his songs have? We may never know.

Swoon-worthy lines:
"Let's drive out to the river at midnight
To dance in the dust of our headlights
And score some good seats for the sunrise"

"We can head north over the oceans of turquoise
Where after a while there'll be no noise
Except for the sound of our heartbeats beating on"

"I wanna get lost with you
And hideout out under the light of the moon"

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 57930.87
ETH 2362.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.36