Monday Mixtape: June 18

in #mondaymixtape6 years ago (edited)

Monday Mixtape June 18.jpg

Hello there!!!!

For the past weeks, a few of my favorite artists have either released their latest albums or have teased us, their fans, of new music that we can look forward to. I love that they have released their music almost simultaneously, which has caused me the good kind of dilemma every day.

This week's #mondaymixtape will include five fresh tracks from artists that are basically mainstays in my playlists.

Some guidelines as you participate in the #mondaymixtape conversation:

  1. Make a post with #mondaymixtape as your first tag
  2. Post links to 5 songs you like
  3. Tell us why you like them. Point out features that surprised you, stuff you learnt from the song, etc etc.

1. Ne-Yo - POUR ME UP


It may not look like it, but, believe me when I say that I do have an R&B phase. Ever since high school, I've always liked Ne-Yo, especially when I found out that aside from writing songs for his album, he has written songs (for various artists) that have become huge hits. Ne-Yo has always been one of my favorite artists and one of my automatic go-to's on Spotify. His latest album is entitled "GOOD MAN", and has 20 tracks. I have only started listening to the album last week so I haven't really checked each song's lyrics. However, there are a number of tracks that have been starting to become my favorites already, such as POUR ME UP. For me, POUR ME UP is one of the more catchy songs in Ne-Yo's latest album. I am not a dancer, but listening to this song makes me want to go home as soon as possible and dance around in my room! Go on, try listening to it and try not to dance. Haha!

2. Snow Patrol - What if this is all the love you ever get?

This song is part of Snow Patrol's latest album entitled Wildness (awesome album cover, btw!). While I am crazy about electric guitars, bass lines, and crazy drum solos, I still find myself in awe of stripped-down versions from time to time because I am led to turn to just the essentials of a song. With just a piano, the usual SP heart-wrenching lyrics, and Gary Lightbody's voice that always brings the words to life...this song did more than just tell its listeners to keep pressing the replay button. This song brought me to tears the first time I listened to it, and I am not even heartbroken! Snow Patrol, ladies and gents!!

Favorite line: "I'm in the ruins too, I know the wreckage so well". Wow.

3. Panic! At The Disco - High Hopes

At first, I was skeptical of this track because it was taking a long time for it to grow on me, maybe because it had a different sound compared to the Panic! I used to know. But, since I am an advocate of reinventing, I tried harder to appreciate this. Little did I know, I was in for a treat, because when Brendon started singing, he naturally blew my mind with those killer chops that go beyond the highest roof! My goodness! I think it is also worth mentioning that I have started to like the lyrics of this song, especially because I have not been fond of Panic's newer material lyrics-wise. I am excited for the rest of the album! I know it will be different from the previous albums, but I like Panic!'s style of reinventing, so the new album must be worth it.

4. Jason Mraz - Unlonely


Does Mr. A-Z even have the ability to write one bad song in this lifetime? This lyrical genius has done it again, and this is JUST ONE song out of his new album (to be released this August!). Everything fans have loved about Jason Mraz can be found in this song. Catchy tune, playful lyrics, and music that's making people tongue-tied! I almost thought he would start scatting in some parts. But, no matter. I don't even have anything more to say except, I CANNOT WAIT FOR THE NEW ALBUM!

5. Kygo ft. Imagine Dragons - Born to be yours


I have started listening to Imagine Dragons only recently, but since then, I am hooked. Imagine Dragons is one of the most lit bands I've ever heard and I am really excited to hear more from them. On the other hand, I've never really heard of Kygo. Or, maybe I have, but I've never paid close attention to who he is, so, naturally, I didn't bother remembering who he was. It's not that I dislike EDM, but because most lyrics (or non-lyrics) of EDM and the sound of synth usually confuse me, I have this tendency to back away from anything sounding similar to EDM. When I found this song on YouTube, I immediately became doubtful. However, the moment I hit "Play", I had to try so hard to hide my embarrassment. It was as if Kygo and Imagine Dragons sucker-punched me and my initial skepticism and taught me this lesson the hard way: You should really listen first before you judge.

This is such a feel-good song, and I am glad that their collab worked. Because of this song, I will probably start listening to Kygo soon.


One of the most awesome feelings in the world is discovering that your favorite artists have decided to continue creating art and share these to the world! Some of my favorite artists have been around for some time now, and while new artists have started taking their own spots in the world stage, I am glad that my favorite artists have not stopped making music despite the uncertainty of their fame or position. This warms my heart. :)

I hope that this mixtape will encourage you to listen to these artists too! :)

Sort:  

Your post was manually selected and voted for by @illuminati-inc (IINC) with support of @curie and its train of votes. About IINC: here. About Curie: here.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 56556.00
ETH 2492.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.22