Monday Mixtape - Vol III

in #mondaymixtape6 years ago (edited)

by_ carmalain7.png

What is Monday Mixtape?


A tag to share some tunes you're bumping or spinning through the week. I love being recommended and listening to new music, but know first hand how difficult it can be when you have an overwhelming amount to go through.

I'm hoping Monday Mixtape can be an opportunity to have a manageable amount of new muzaks to check out through the week presented in an easy to get through format.

Also, that some of you want to put little mixtape posts together as well so we can start sharing and promoting the sounds that add value to our lives! If you do put a Monday Mixtape post together, please tag me!

For my posts, the genres of music are going to be pretty scattershot, with country and pop being the only genres I don't regularly lend an ear to. If you don't find something scratching your itch, please message me in the comments and we'll find something next week.

1. Thomas Strønen & Time Is A Blind Guide - Lucus (Jazz)

The above is a promotional video for prolific acclaimed Norwegian jazz drummer and composer, Thomas Strønen, and his acoustic quintet ensemble, Time Is A Blind Guide.

'Lucas' is the group's second album on ECM, one part avant-swing and one part chamber jazz, the reduction in players from their debut album leads to much more spacial creation, exploration and focus on the unique voice of each member.

Amazon | Spotify


2. Dillinger Escape Plan - Farewell Mona Lisa (Mathcore)

The world of extreme music shed a tear at the end of 2017 after loosing one of the most iconic bands of the last two decades when Dillinger Escape Plan announced they would be retiring the legacy of one of the most unquestionably influential bands in extreme music.

Beyond creating their own genre of music distinct from anything anyone had ever even conceived, the band's absolute commitment to their reckless live shows, DIY, straight-edge, vegetarian & vegan promoting lifestyles endeared them to fans and forged bonds with communities and charities that made their live shows true experiences.

Amazon | Bandcamp | Spotify


3. Have a Nice Life - Defenestration Song (Post-Punk Shoegaze)

Born off the back of MBV's world ending 'Loveless', Have a Nice Life earned their fame producing their low-fi post-punk imitation in their bedroom closet during their summers off teaching.

Guitar noise and reverb drenched drum machines drive the sound and create a dark, tense atmosphere with which the duo create their jaded anthems.

Amazon | Bandcamp | Spotify


4. Lingua Ignota - Suffer Forever (Neoclassical)

I'm going to do a proper feature on Kristin Hayter's Lingua Ignota project at a later point in time, until then, please listen to this gorgeous voice inspired by misogynists and internet trolls from her 'BURN EVERYTHING TRUST NO ONE KILL YOURSELF' project.

100% of the artist proceeds from the album this song is from, 'Let The Evil of His Own Lips Cover Him,' is donated to National Network to End Domestic Violence.

I think what Kristin Hayter creates transcends the label "music" and challenges my perceptions of what is heavy, emotional, evocative, confrontational, engaging and original in music. To put simply, Lingua Ignota is the most impactful musical project I've encountered in the last few years and she does so in a way that hurts in the deepest and most pure way.

Bandcamp


5. Anna Von Hausswolff - The Mysterious Vanishing of Electra (Darkwave)

Swedish Neoclassical Darkwave songstress and uncompromising creator, Anna Von Hausswolff's new album utilizes a notable and historic 20th century church organ to provide the foundation for tracks of both hope and despair for the modern age.

My blog on her new album 'Dead Magic', on which this song resides, is linked here.

Amazon | Bandcamp | Spotify

z_divider.png

Thought on any of the songs or artists above?
What's on your Monday morning mix tape?

Let me know in the comments below!

thank you for the read
z_IOW_WM_BLACK.png
@isleofwrite logo design by @PegasusPhysics
header photo base is public commons

Sort:  

It loves you to!!

Would be so excited to see your drink pairings with your selected tracks z_black_heart.png

Absolutely love the last one. Her voice is quite incredible and I like how she plays with it. The ridiculousness of the dramatic background does speak to me too. Your choice in music is very intense. Its brilliant. I like how you always post from a few genres.

Just the most agreement with you, @shivvi, and it has such a range! If you have not seen it yet, I featured her new album in a post here, and it is exceptional - maybe best thus far of the year!

Can't tell you how much your comments and the trust you show in checking out the tracks means to me z_thank_you.png

Interesting entries!! Thank you for introducing these songs! I don't usually listen to these kinds of genre but I am glad to have discovered Have a Nice Life through this mixtape!

I am excited to see your mixtape next week! :)

I am the most delighted to hear that, @charlocked; definitely my goal is to at least introduce some music fans to some songs and genres they might otherwise never seek out themselves. Hopefully, they enjoy the song, but, at the very least, it's always nice to hear something new, I think.

Thank you so much!

Thank you for participating in a tag that I started #mondaymixtape
I get to discover new music every Monday and that actually makes to look forward to them! 😊
I haven't heard any of the songs that you have posted. Which is a good thing :) That Suffer Forever song and video is really powerful!

Really like Have a Nice Life and also Dillinger Escape Plan (Reminds me of Rage Against the Machine). I really want to join in with this - but I never find any new music - except since I started on Steemit of course!
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

That's awesome, mate! I'm so excited you found a couple to enjoy - I want to be one of those that help people find the new music; life's mission.

Have a Nice Life is a strange one, they happened into an iconic sound while working on their debut album for something like 8 years while they were doing their day jobs - never thought anyone would like it.

Dillinger are something else entirely, their guitarist Ben Weinman will always be mentioned in the top for all time greatest extreme metal music and they were my favorite band to see live for a decade - they're lauded by the likes of Metallica and Megadeth and Nine Inch Nails, but not nearly as well known as they should have been. So happy that you are finding their energy to your liking, my friend!

Suffer Forever was good, and it became great for me around the 2:40 mark!

As for Anna Von Hausswolff, I was just listening to Dead Magic the other day! Good ol youtube recommendations brought me the magic of her new album, which I hadn't known was out. Happy time.

On my Monday mix-tape (well, Tuesday at least) are the various raps by JT music. Aggressive and driving raps to the tune of rock/dramatic music scores. Great for a work-out!

If only you knew someone who published the best new release every Friday on their blog so you could always be on top of those new albums before youtube repped them (actually, timing doesn't really mean anything, it's all about listening to what you love! <3)

I do not know JT Music at all - so I'm off to ammend!

heh, maybe one day I'll discover someone who fits that description!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60937.59
ETH 2721.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43