That Toothpaste Phone Hack That Doesn't Work

in #mobile6 years ago (edited)

So I watched junebride's video for Steem/CoinsPH and then watched a related video after it. Eventually I got on to YouTube and found myself watching life hack stuff and guess what caught my eye? Check at 15 mins and see.

Remember I have a cracked phone LCD that I don't want to have repaired?

image.png

Well, that video showed a promising phone hack. The video showed me phone cracks can be repaired using toothpaste. TOOTHPASTE! And because I saw it oh quick I got the white toothpaste (Colgate) and put it on my phone screen like they did and voila! NOTHING!

Maybe it depends on the kind of crack and the kind of phone but it doesn't work for me. I watched two more vids and one said it's not true and another saying it is.

I tried a few times using my finger. Didn't work. I used cloth to spread and wipe it over my phone screen, nope didn't work. Maybe if the cracks were shallow? But those videos had phones with deep cracks too but they are misleading! Tsk.

Look at it and see if it changed at all.

SAVE_20180417_010254.jpeg

I didn't believe it when I saw the video but I tried it to see if it will work. Oh well... Too bad it didn't work. What did work for me before was using scotch tape on the scratched lens of my now gone Acer Z530. After putting scotch tape on it, guess what, the lens became clearer indeed!

Now that I remember that, I wonder why the thief still didn't return my phone even if it's already damaged? Must be because of the tape over the camera lens? Grrr. Anyway spilled milk! Spilled milk I say I should just let it go and move on. Oh stop being attached to things/stuff. Things that are gone. Lots of things inside the phone. Ugh.

I should make a video for coinsph/steem too but I haven't yet. Ah life.

XOXO,
@artgirl

P.S. Will be posting the results of my Draw your previous Steemit Post Pet/Animal Contest contest in a day or two after the post pays out. Ciao!


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg

WARNING:
Spam comments will be FLAGGED / DOWNVOTED if it is not revised upon warning.

Image/s belongs to me unless it has a source indicated.

All rights reserved.
Written by @artgirl for Steemit.
© Art x Stephanie Rue

@artgirl is a freelance artist and also a sales person. Currently an agent for resort-type condo communities in Metro Manila.
For any art or property inquiries, you can chat me up on steem.chat or send me a Facebook message. Link in my bio.


IMG_20180216_065807_20180216070540108.jpg


For my art, writings and other posts, feel free to check my blog page.

image.png

my-Bitlanders-banner2.gif



Like it?
Upvote, Follow and Resteem for appreciation.

♥ Thanks! ♥

Sort:  

Umm I really would not rub toothpaste over a phone screen. Toothpaste by its very nature is an abrasive and so think about making millions of tiny scratches all over your phone. If all you wish to do is cover up the crack then you need a gel of the same refractive index and smear it in the cracks.

Something like this might do the trick. It is essentially the same sort of thing they use for windscreen repair on a car.

It is cured by UV light which basically means leaving out in the sun for a while till it hardens and it should dry clear. If in doubt try a sample drop on a old piece of glass or other transparent surface and see how well it dries to clear.

Seriously though don't use toothpaste for cracks. Scuffs maybe it is basically a fine grade polish

Edit:

Oh make sure you clean out any toothpaste you put into the crack otherwise filling in with gel will only permenantly make the crack visible.

Good luck!

Uhm... Too late then. There's probably lots of toothpaste particles in the cracks.

Interesting that you have provided something usable now but I won't buy that if it's not available locally.

I wonder what I will experiment on next...

Well from my knowledge most toothpaste is made up of calcium carbonate , aluminium hydroxide, phosphates and silicas for the abrasive effect. 3 of those are susceptible to acids, silica not so much. Silica is basically glass though so if that is all that is left behind prolly not so bad.

You could try with a cotton bud and some sort of acid astringent like spirit vinegar or even lemon juice and you might be able to remove most of what is in the tooth paste. The rest is all soluble in water it is only the abrasives that are not (obviously).

Sorry I did not see your post early otherwise I would have offered my advice sooner. Still if you want to try and do a repair it is up to you.

Best of luck!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64243.42
ETH 3152.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28