Bitcoin vs Steem - what makes Steem better?

in #mmm6 years ago

Hi all   

I’m brand new to Steemit this is my first real post, so please shout me down if this isn’t the right type of thing. 

I’ve followed Mr Money Mustache (MMM) for several months now, I really love his life philosophy and his articles are always straight to the point and interesting. My wife and I are attempting to convert to the MMM way of life eg. Riding to work on a push bike, saving 70% of our income etc. (definitely worth the read if you haven’t heard of him)   

My mate is back in Australia visiting on holidays from Canada where he is now based. We have had non-stop discussions about cryptocurrency this last week. He is extremely excited about Steem. I’ve been madly trying to get my head around this concept and whilst it is difficult to comprehend how it works and all the parts fit together, I really am curious about the potential. I’ve jumped straight in and created an account, so here goes.   

This morning (I’m based in Melbourne Australia) I saw the latest MMM post about why it is crazy to invest in Bitcoin and cryptocurrencies broadly. Link below. I highly recommend reading this article as he is articulate and makes good points, specifically about the market speculation.    

https://www.mrmoneymustache.com/2018/01/02/why-bitcoin-is-stupid/   

The key reason for my post here is I want to highlight the difference between Steem and other cryptocurrencies, as I see it. Steem is a community, that seeks to reward individuals for providing good quality content. The underlying blockchain and currency serves as a vehicle to keep the community as the owners of all economic benefits. Bitcoin does not have anything other than the actual currency itself. In Steem the currency is but a side product and not the overall aim.   

Anyway, I’m really keen to open this up to Steemians who have much more knowledge and experience than I. I’d love to hear and start a discussion.  

Cheers and happy 2018!   

#MMM, #Mr Money Mustache, #Bitcoin, #crypto, #Melbourne, #Ride to work,   #Steem

Sort:  

Well, what I like the most when it comes to Steem is the fact that I can earn it. I don't know, but it's one thing to buy Bitcoin and another thing to earn Steem. I really feel every part of the Steem I've gathered until now. Because I worked hard to get it.

This may be a disadvantage for some, because it seems hard to earn Steem by writing posts. It is way easier to throw in some money and buy some Bitcoin, waiting for it to grow. But maybe that's the advantage of us, people who are with Steem for some time. I really hope that this will go up in price.

P.S: Haha, I remember MMM. I don't know how I found his website, but somehow I did and I read some articles. Unfortunately for me, I haven't applied any lessons from him yet, but now I may give it a shot. :))

Yes, it certainly seems a much more logical and fair system. Whoever creates stands to benefit rather than a bunch of random speculators. Cheers for the comment

Interesting post. Who can argue with a money genius like MMM :)
Not but seriously I understand his point of view and concerns about Bitcoin and Crypto.
But since this is relatively new phenomenon who know what is really right or wrong? Just gotta do your research and go with what you believe in.
Hopefully can we look back in on this post and say that Steemit was worth the effort :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 56587.45
ETH 2991.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15