You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The @mitneb Curation Trail Project Daily Report – 30 JAN 2018

This is a really great idea and could be so helpful in smoothing out the communication between native-English-speakers and others just learning to write English on this platform. There are many times I read a post and am frustrated by the communication issues because these posts are by people who live in places and cultures I've sometimes never even heard of and I'd really like to be able to understand what they're saying!

Sort:  

Thanks very much for your thoughtful comment, @Iturner! I have found that it is okay to ask a person to say it again in another way to help me understand their meaning. Most of the time they will respond. People are generally interested in improving their English language skills, and everyone reading can learn from seeing the conversation progress towards clarity. I'm following you now!
Cheers!

That's a great idea! I hadn't really considered asking for clarity because I thought that might be embarrassing to the person who wrote, but if I were doing my best to write in another language I would absolutely appreciate someone asking my meaning and then showing me how to make it clearer next time. After all, that's how I learned to speak and write in the first place.

Thanks for the follow!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 60609.50
ETH 3014.13
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.90