LIT! It's Your Content That Matters...

in #mithril6 years ago (edited)

Today, I'm a 76 days LIT user. I'd written a simple experience of mine using LIT here a month back. After that I further experience and learn more about social mining through LIT. Now I'm going to share more.

HOW USERS THINK SOCIAL MINING WORKS

I think most users (including me myself) used to think that social mining through LIT is only depending on VIEW, LIKE, WATCH TIME received on our own stories. Indeed this is how you earn but it has more factors that determine the posts' payouts. This is also why posts with same amount of view and like have different payout. It is more than just the NUMBERS.

FOCUS ON YOUR CONTENTS

In early August, @mithriltoken released an interesting in-depth article on How Social Mining Works. It took me time to analyze and to experiment things myself and this is some of my findings. Most LIT users had already read through that article I believed. I'm just going to share what I found out.

Imagine this, you logged into LIT and these are the few posts you see... (I will give my comment based on my opinion and you might have different opinion than mine, so no right or wrong here)

Screenshot_20180830-154559_2.png
Blurry Image

Screenshot_20180830-154628_2.png
Downloaded Image

Screenshot_20180830-154731_2.png
Content that has no meaning...

Screenshot_20180830-154751_2.png
Let you judge this picture...

Screenshot_20180830-154828_2.png
Image with someone else's watermark? Really?

Screenshot_20180830-154838_2.png
Story about your ceiling/wall... and lights?

Screenshot_20180830-154943_2.png
I have no idea...

Screenshot_20180830-155523_2.png
I have no idea 2...

QUALITY SCORE FOR YOUR POST

Imagine when you log into a social media app and all you see are posts like these. Will you still continue using it? Above the mentioned is my thought and opinion. When I see pictures like this, first user reaction is skip without even thinking, and tell me how am I suppose to LIKE the posts that I don't like? When this happen then it lowers down your quality score thus your posts earnings will decrease even with many given LIKEs. Again, there might be users that will really like those contents and give LIKE. It's all up to the user.

Logic here is IF there are more people that skip through your post compared to people that like your post, your post earnings will be lowered down. full stop

ENGAGEMENT SCORE

I like to communicate with LIT users. Posts that are interesting to me I will sometimes drop messages and comments. Just give you some simple examples.

Certain food picture that is nicely shot, I will ask user about "How much is this meal?", "What is that?", "Which restaurant?", "Wow, looks yummy! I should try this next time", etc. Comment like this engage the other party to answer questions instead of dropping comments like "All Liked", "Liked please like me back". Hey, there is notification that tells users who like their posts so you don't have to drop messages/comments like that.

When you engage with people more, in return they know you, they might visit your profile and start engaging with you too. That's how engagement starts, it's about communicating with each other about the related posts/stories, thus helping each other to increase posts' payout and quality score (because when you actually drop comment, unknowingly you are not skipping their posts, staying longer on their posts hint hint).

INCREASING ACCOUNT RATING

Trust me, we are automatically attracted to posts/stories that are nice (again subjective to different users preferences). So long there is a user that posts contents that I like, I will automatically follow the user. Note: There is no obligation for people to like/follow your account because when you like people's contents it doesn't mean people will like your contents.

Honestly I have no idea how account rating is determined but based on the info given by Mithril, so long there are many users that like your contents and follow your account, then it increases your account rating. At the same time, you do the same to others, like and follow users that post nice interesting stories.

WHAT I FOUND OUT HOW THESE 3 CRITERIA ARE LINKED!

Let's say we have User A that posts contents similar to what I mentioned above. Possible outcomes are

  1. Users (which are not friends) will skip and will not like User A's posts.
  2. Users might report (either spam or inappropriate - downloaded posts) posts.
  3. Users that don't like User A's post will not follow and might not view his/her account anymore.

See, even if User A asks friends to give LIKE for the sake of increasing LIKE numbers, probably the number of users that skip User A's content outnumbered his/her friends. Maybe User A's friends also just LIKE and SKIP, and that is even worse! End of the day

  1. User A's posts' quality score decreases.
  2. User A's account rating decreases.
  3. User A's posts don't earn anything from engagement.

NOT ONLY THAT...

User A might also causes his/her friends that give LIKE, earn lower. You might be wondering why?

When User A's friends simply give LIKE without any engagement or actual viewing, it lowers down their account rating. Make sense right? How is it possible that you will LIKE something that MOST USERS DON'T LIKE? The system somehow recognizes when a post is viewed by a lot of people and if not many LIKE is given, that post will be considered as a 'low quality score' post.

MY PREFERABLE CONTENTS

Again this is very subjective and what I like may not be what others might like. Let me show you a few example of the contents I like.

Screenshot_20180830-170303.png

Screenshot_20180830-170415.png

Screenshot_20180830-170618.png

Screenshot_20180830-170658.png

Screenshot_20180830-170716.png

Screenshot_20180830-170746.png

Screenshot_20180830-170859.png

Screenshot_20180830-171059.png

SECRET TO EARN IN SOCIAL MINING

Focus on your contents. Good contents will earn you GENUINE VIEW, LIKE and ENGAGEMENT. This is the goal that you need to focus on. Not just simply spam for the sake of accumulating VIEW and LIKE. Again, there is no obligation in giving LIKE back in return. So long your contents are nice, people will follow and like your stuff. This is the ORGANIC + GENUINE results that you need to works towards to. Here are a few tips from @mithriltoken for you to refer.

Okay, I will share until here. Whatever I share is all from user experience and findings. Anything that I find out in the future, I will share it again OR if you have anything that you wanna know more can just drop me a comment here.

Happy LITing!

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 16 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 6 SBD worth and should receive 122 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.33
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66530.34
ETH 3251.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.36