MISS Inform—MISSES Character Reveal

in #misses5 years ago

Last week, I introduced the idea behind MISSES, a comic book series (or potentially, a series of graphic novels) I've been developing since mid-2017. To see what I talked about there, you can find the post here.

So far, I have a total of ten characters with conceptual art, and so I plan to reveal one a week for at least the next ten weeks, and if I end up with more, extend it.

The hardest thing about this is knowing where to start. That doesn't just include this post, but the story of MISSES, too. I've had a number of beginnings in my head, so I need to narrow that down. For the purpose of these posts, however, I'm choosing a sequence and going with it.


MISS Inform Color_head.png

Meet MISS Inform

Jayn Tael started attending the Millennial Institute of Social Sciences (MISS) when she was 14 (the majority of MISSES will take place while she's 16 to 18). She was accepted, just as all the young women are, because of her suitable mastery of the four MISS benchmarks—modesty, intelligence, spirituality and strength. She was also picked because she had a knack for getting things wrong.

Now, that might sound a little strange, but MISS is a cover for the MISSES Endeavor, and for some of the people behind the scenes, having the ability to do anything, even something negative or seemingly worthless, could be used for the good of humanity.

So Jayn, along with all the other girls, received a nickname that was specifically fashioned for her—Misinform. The hope was to turn that unfortunate ability into something worthwhile.

And it happened. Through a series of events that will unfold in the pages of MISSES, Jayn went from a tattletale who always got her information wrong, to being able to cause others the same problem, to what she is today—MISS Inform, with the ability to provide accurate and timely information out of thin air for those who need it.

She can see things as they happen. She can tap into all knowledge, past and present. She does so naturally, without any technological aid whatsoever.

While she will occasionally go out into the field as the situation demands, she is primarily an integral part of MISS Support.

Concept Art


MISS Inform v1.jpg

The Sketches

The image above, along with the next two, is where the art for MISS Inform began. I commissioned the art through guru.com, which has been a good source for me of artists with more or less reasonable prices. I first used Guru in 2010 to get three novel covers drawn, and returned to it in 2017 to produce the characters for the MISSES comic book stories.

You will note that MISS Inform went through a couple minor iterations before her final form was chosen.


MISS Inform v2.jpg

And actually, her look as far as hair, height, body shape, etc., didn't change that much at all throughout this process. What did was the goggles/glasses she's wearing.

I wanted something that would represent what she does visually. I suggested some kind of eyewear so it would be obvious that she was able to see things. But when the sketches arrived, I wasn't that happy with them, and while I got a couple of versions of it, I decided to forget the goggles/glasses all together.


MISS Inform v3.jpg

If you've ever worked or collaborated with someone else, especially long distance, you may have some experience with what happens during this creative process. In the case of MISS Inform, it was mostly trying to manifest her powers in a visual way, but then not really being content with how that was being portrayed. So, instead of pushing it further, I decided to just stick with her character. I figured the rest could be worked out in time.

(This will become a reoccurring theme, by the way, with varying degrees of success, so you can watch for that as subsequent posts unfold.)

Thus, the above image is ultimately what I settled on for the look of MISS Inform. Since she really doesn't need technology to do what she does, it's just basically her in her MISS Support uniform.


MISS Inform ink.png

Inked

Not much change here aside from the cleanup from sketch to inked version, but there is one difference I really didn't want. Her uniform goes from something resembling something looser, or not quite as tight fitting, like a T-shirt and sweat pants, or maybe even a band uniform, to something else resembling lycra or rubber.

In the order of characters drawn, MISS Inform was one of the last, and so by that time, as mentioned above, I just wanted to get the character finished more than anything else. So, before actual comic book production starts, I will need to have her uniform revisited so that it's not like a wet suit.


MISS Inform Color_Patreon.png

Colors

That look (the wet suit) probably becomes more evident in color. Those (the colors) are subject to change, too. I wanted something to differentiate her from other characters, and the color combination did, so we went with it. As for her own coloring, that's pretty much it. She's a redhead from a race of humans similar to those found in Scotland or Ireland.

Art for MISS Inform was created by Graphics Manufacture, an illustration/graphics company headquartered in France. Overall, I was very happy with their speed, communication, turnaround on changes, and their art, and I highly recommend them (if someone on STEEM doesn't fit the bill for some reason).

And that's MISS Inform.


MISSES title logo_NP.jpg

Images courtesy of Glen Anthony Albrethsen

MISSES ©Copyright 2017-2019 by Glen Anthony Albrethsen. All rights reserved.
Sort:  

Beautiful character @glenalbrethsen and her costume looks amazing, it will be interesting to see her actions in the comic!

I appreciate the thought, @serkagan, that there will actually eventually be a comic! Seems like a long way from here to there. Who knows right? Never say never.

I think of MISS Inform as a character who doen't quite fit the normal mold of superheroes. In fact, I would like most of the characters to be like that. In a lot of cases the super power somehow enhances their looks, too.

I'd rather these girls look the way they would in real life, and then keep that look even with their powers. I've been trying for a costume, too, that is more apropos for not only fighting in, but just overall sentiment.

Anyway, I guess we'll see how things shake out. :)

And truly miss inform looks great

Hey, @adenijiadeshina.

Good to hear. With MISS Inform, I'm going for someone who isn't your typical look for a superhero. That's what I'm hoping will come through more than anything. That's she, as well as many of the rest, are everyday ordinary people with some pretty extraordinary capabilities. :)

Oh!
Fantastic comic is at hand? Soon?
Many are excited, me too!
Good luck Glen!

Hey, @ronel.

re: many are excited

You know more than me about that. :) I'm glad you're excited, though. I am, too.

re: soon?

It's not likely to be soon. There's some money involved to get even one comic book produced, and so STEEM needs to do pretty well for me to justify working on the book again. However, these posts should help me get back into the idea (since I've taken over a year off from development).

So, we'll see. :)

Hello @glenalberthsen, nice to see your post being appreciated by curie. I'm impressed about your project and reading your post made me realize how much and precise work you have to put in in order to get a quality comic book.
Working with different artists you don't know and are far away, you can't have a face to face meeting with them, could be really challenging. I like MISS as it is but obviously I don't have the whole story to know what you're planning. The orange color is my favorite, so I'm more than ok with it.
Good luck with the project and I'm looking forward to seeing your next post about the project.

Hey, @erikah.

Well, what I found was I knew more of what I didn't want, and not exactly what I wanted. And I needed to be pretty precise, like step by step precise. I can't blame the artist, though. They have no idea what I have in mind and just telling them, "Um, well, they fly and they have super hearing" wasn't going to be enough. Things needed to be more detailed and more precise. And even then, that didn't mean I was going to like it.

This would be so much easier, obviously, if I was much better at drawing. Most people do come at comic books from the artist side of things, rather than the writer. I've done it before, but I don't know how to ink and I'm horrible at coloring, so there you go. :)

So, I think some of it is on them, but more of it was on me.

Orange and black are the colors of the rival college football team here in Oregon, so I will probably change it. There's a lot of color combinations I like more, anyway.

I know what you mean, I'm learning to draw and it's not easy, that's for sure, especially if you want to do something of quality. Now I understand why you don't like orange, so it's ok :)
Good luck, I hope you can find what you need without going through much trouble.

@glenalbrethsen You have received a 100% upvote from @intro.bot because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Well, okay, @verifyme. I think this is the first time I've seen a comment like this on one of my posts. Or maybe it's the second time. Are you a bot that verifies whether someones uses bots, then, and works in concert with the @intro.bot?

Sup Dork! Enjoy the upvote!!!

Well, thank you, @supdork. Your upvote is very much appreciated. :)

Love the fact that you are going dow this path! Great dedication and look forward to more!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Hey, @newageinv.

I appreciate the vote of confidence. Would you mind elaborating a little, though, as far as which path, and why you think that's a good one to go down? :) I mean, I have my guesses, but I want to be sure, since we all pick out different things.

Hi glenalbrethsen,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

Thank you, @curie et al.

Very much appreciated and welcome, I must say. You all seem to know exactly when to come and lift my spirits. :) I'm sure that's how you determine when to upvote, right?

As always, thank you for all you do to keep STEEM, and in particular the social media/blogging side, going.

Congratulations @glenalbrethsen! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 20000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I'd been sneaking up on that one, the 20,000 upvotes received here, and then curie came along and pretty much blew me right past it.

Thanks, @steemitboard. I appreciate all of the updates.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.12
JST 0.026
BTC 56792.41
ETH 2444.34
BNB 487.19
SBD 2.39