Why I am not YET Positive about the Recent Market Moves

in #minnowuprising6 years ago

pexels-photo-241544.jpeg

While I am long-term positive on Bitcoin and most of the Cryptocurrency market, I fear that this latest bounce is again a short term relief actually led by those who have shorted Bitcoin and have since bought back to cover positions and take profits. The metric I continue to measure for this sentiment is Bitcoin Dominance which continues to be at 43% which is high relative to 2018 metrics from the all-time high of the market capitalization.

Screen Shot 2018-07-18 at 6.13.02 PM.png

Source: https://coinmarketcap.com/charts/#dominance-percentage

Despite the latest almost $50 billion increase in Market Cap, BTC dominance has remained strong demonstrating its continue leadership position in the markets. It continues to be the determining factor of whether the market rises or falls. The high correlation demonstrates that investor sentiment is also driven by the Bitcoin price instead of individual asset performances. The interesting thing about the last quarter is that even the big market names like Ethereum and Litecoin have also underperformed Bitcoin moves. When sentiment is positive, more investors look towards assets that are correlated but cheaper to acquire in expectations they will outperform due to their smaller market capitalizations.

Therefore, unless BTC dominance falls below 40%, I think the overall market is still headed lower. I would expect larger capitalization assets to correlate more to Bitcoin but that has been a mystery for me for the last couple of weeks which is why I am concerned about this bounce. I would have expected a large capitulation sell off to a new low with high volumes before a bottom could really be called.

Screen Shot 2018-07-18 at 6.12.24 PM.png

Source: https://coinmarketcap.com/charts/

However, the volumes being seen in the last week are a bright light. The market averaging above $20 billion per day is something to look for as volume helps in confirming changes to trend. These fluctuations don’t change my strategy as I continue to hold most assets and buy some on dips while I can given that some prices look attractive. There is a turning point coming soon as the news and sentiment about blockchain and cryptocurrency continues to be more positive via news than what it was earlier this year as FUD terrorized the markets. Interesting to see that positive news doesn’t move the prices the same way FUD moved them lower earlier in the year. That could be because prices have normalized and seem to be at a balance of supply and demand right now which is overall positive.

What are your thoughts on the markets and where it is headed? Is the bottom in? What does that mean for prices going forward? I look forward to your thoughts and engagement in the comments below!

image004.png

This post is part of the #minnowuprising initiative where the community, led by @taskmaster4450, is experimenting by increasing posts and upvotes for the users that fall in the majority but are not as influencing as the larger holders of #STEEM. More details about the initiative here in a recent post. Please consider participating by supporting this and other posts with the #minnowuprising tag.

STEEM 2018-04-21 at 11.21.16 AM.png

Follow me on Twitter: @NAICrypto

Don’t forget to vote, comment, follow, resteem and browse my channel for more information!

If you are like me and interested in continued personal growth, invest in yourself and lets help each other out by leveraging the resources they provide by using my referral link:
https://www.minnowbooster.com/referral/530636

DISCLAIMER: The information discussed here is intended to enable the community to know my opinions and discuss them. It is not intended as and does not constitute investment advice or legal or tax advice or an offer to sell any asset to any person or a solicitation of any person of any offer to purchase any asset. The information here should not be construed as any endorsement, recommendation or sponsorship of any company or asset by me. There are inherent risks in relying on, using or retrieving any information found here, and I urge you to make sure you understand these risks before relying on, using or retrieving any information here. You should evaluate the information made available here, and you should seek the advice of professionals, as appropriate, to evaluate any opinion, advice, product, service or other information; I do not guarantee the suitability or potential value of any particular investment or information source. I may invest or otherwise hold an interest in these assets that may be discussed here.

Sort:  

Great post, looks like I will also start looking at bitcoin domamince as sentiment moving forward too.

Makes sense but the sudden move in price upwards with volume should signal good things to come.

Volume can definitely help but it will have many resistance levels above. Trends is really not broken until above $10k in my opinion.

I am hoping it continues its bullrun.

I feel like its a dead cat bounce

People might go for the lower market share coins but if they don’t have a solid use case it’s a crap shoot as to whether it will pump and die

Agreed! We should expect a flight to quality as the projects start to fail or succeed. More and more have failed so the ones that are left have been survivors so far.

Nice read. I leave an upvote for this article thumbsup

Thanks everyone for supporting (upvotes) me to be able to take part into the byteball's party...!

I need a crystal ball.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 63122.96
ETH 2686.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57