Disc Golf and Beer Review #1 ~ #minnowuprising

I shared a post about my first round of disc a few weeks ago and as I snapped a picture of my beer before I hucked my first disc this round, it hit me that I should incorporate a beer review with my discing results. I love disc and trying out new beers, so today is the first of hopefully many.

As I noted in my previous post, If you're not enjoying a cold breswki off the first tee box, you're doing it wrong.

IMG_2128.jpg

I was accompanied this round by Nu Skool IPA from Southern Tier Brewing, out of Lakewood, NY.
They describe it as such:

Nu Skool is an approachable, well-balanced IPA with slight malty sweetness that’s brimming with tropical, fruity, spicy, piney & citrus character. To contrast our IPA (brewed since 2002), which most closely resembles a traditional English IPA in malt & hop bills, we wanted to brew an IPA in a new way.
It’s time to graduate to the next level of hop flavors with Nu Skool IPA.
source

Now, understand, that I am a sucker for citrus-y and fruity IPA's. My go-to would be Citradelic from New Belgium Brewing, or Fresh Squeezed from Deschutes in Oregon. So I had my hopes and the bar, set pretty high.

The hops were there, albeit not overpowering. There was a slight bitterness, but nothing unbearable, even for the novice IPA drinker I reckon. The fruity-ness was present, but overpowered by the malty-ness. Not that I didn't like it or enjoy it, but it's tough to compete with the big dogs. STB calling it approachable & well-balanced is pretty spot on. A little too malty for my preference, but fairly easy drinking for an IPA.

The can perspiring kept my hand cool on this gorgeous day, with a slight breeze, just enough to wisp the sweat off under the 80 degree heat. It was my best round of the year so far, albeit only my second go, ha! The course is all par 3, I bogeyed the long #2, but came right back and birdied hole #3.

The shot of the day came on the last hole, #9. I had a pretty good drive that set me up in the middle of the fair way. The basket sits high on the top of a hill, but it's pretty much wide open without too many obstacles in the way.

IMG_2133.jpg

You would have had to have an incredible strong throw to get you within striking distance for a birdie, so I was looking at a minimum to be close enough to par out for an even par day, which I will never complain about.

IMG_2134.jpg

There it is zoomed in

I used my fairway driver and let my natural hook as a righty bring it in soft from the right side. I also had a calm side wind from the left that helped my hook stay more straight and narrow. I put a little more mustard on it than I should have and over shot the basket by about 5 feet. A little less and it could have rattled those chains. I was happy with it anyway though and I sunk my putt for par.

IMG_2135.jpg

Even Steven on the course for the day makes me a happy man. As for Nu Skool IPA, it gets a decent 3 out of 5 STEEMS.

5 out of 5 steems.png

Sort:  

lovely story

You got a plankton sized upvote from @worksinsane because your post appeared in the We Curate quality post search tool. It is a web art thingy thing that searches posts which fulfill predetermined guidelines. Upvoting isn't automated, @worksinsane reads posts before upvoting.

For more information read the introduction post.