You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quality Comment Creation For Maximum Follower Gain - How To Win Followers And Influence People On Steemit - Part 3

I'm a little late on this post, but better late than never. This post is absolutely awesome and touches on a very important, but under-appreciated area, which are comments.

I HATE that there is this stigma about upvoting your own comments. I actually just posted about this exact topic tonight on my blog. If your comment was worth writing you should upvote it and there should be nothing wrong with that!

Also in some cases the comments can actually provide more value than the posts themselves, and I would love to see more rewards paid out to comments rather than posts. My go-to community other than SteemIt is Hacker News, and the reason is 100% for the comments. I can read the news stories anywhere, but there the comments are amazing.

For everything that is posted there are people who are intimately familiar with whatever type of science or technology the post is about who had so much additional information or perspectives in the comments.

I wish that the same thing will one day happen here, and one way to get to that point is to have everyone start upvoting great comments as much - or more - than they do for posts.

Sort:  

I agree with everything you've said here.

I think one reason the comments are under-utilized, at present, is due to the prevalence of auto-voting at the moment. As a result, many posts have far more votes than actual views. I think we will need to change how curation works to encourage human interaction again. We need to see a result much more like the average Reddit post, where the comments are actually very relevant.

I have never seen anyone post "Came for the comments" on Steemit.

Thinking about how to potentially solve this problem. A lot of the issues here seem to be around the fight to get on the "trending" page. I wonder if they changed the trending algorithm to weigh the votes on the comments of a post as well as the post itself if that would encourage more discussion and push the good discussions to the top.

Do you know how the trending page algorithm works?

"A lot of the issues here seem to be around the fight to get on the "trending" page."

I would tend to agree.

"I wonder if they changed the trending algorithm to weigh the votes on the comments of a post as well as the post itself if that would encourage more discussion and push the good discussions to the top."

I've suggested something very similar to this, but crafting the formula itself is no small tas.

"Do you know how the trending page algorithm works?"

I think it's a straight up, per-tag ranking of pending rewards. More = better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66161.45
ETH 3566.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.11