You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Quality Comment Creation For Maximum Follower Gain - How To Win Followers And Influence People On Steemit - Part 3

I agree with everything you've said here.

I think one reason the comments are under-utilized, at present, is due to the prevalence of auto-voting at the moment. As a result, many posts have far more votes than actual views. I think we will need to change how curation works to encourage human interaction again. We need to see a result much more like the average Reddit post, where the comments are actually very relevant.

I have never seen anyone post "Came for the comments" on Steemit.

Sort:  

Thinking about how to potentially solve this problem. A lot of the issues here seem to be around the fight to get on the "trending" page. I wonder if they changed the trending algorithm to weigh the votes on the comments of a post as well as the post itself if that would encourage more discussion and push the good discussions to the top.

Do you know how the trending page algorithm works?

"A lot of the issues here seem to be around the fight to get on the "trending" page."

I would tend to agree.

"I wonder if they changed the trending algorithm to weigh the votes on the comments of a post as well as the post itself if that would encourage more discussion and push the good discussions to the top."

I've suggested something very similar to this, but crafting the formula itself is no small tas.

"Do you know how the trending page algorithm works?"

I think it's a straight up, per-tag ranking of pending rewards. More = better.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64015.61
ETH 3429.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54