NEED YOUR SUPPORT : I have a Dream, that I'll be attending the STEEMFEST 2017.

Follow your dreams, believe in yourself and don't give up - Rachel Corrie

I joined Steemit in June 2017, and immediately I got hooked by the platform they have. Upon scrolling on posts, posting my own blogs, and engaging in community trending topics, I fortunately saw this event. This added spice to my journey here in steemit.

I saw this post : https://steemit.com/steemfest/@aggroed/steemfest-minnow-all-expense-paid-trip-to-steemfest, and I got excited to join the event and be able to attend the much awaited Steemfest 2017 in November. Here is my Bio :

13.jpg

My name is Jassenn Laurente, 21 years old. I live Philippines, and my hometown is from the Oldest City in our country - Cebu.

My life experience was extremely hard, going through a lot of downs but it didn't dictated my fortune. Right now, I am currently a Fifth year, Bachelor of Science in Electronics Engineering in University of Cebu. One more year, and I will graduate my dream profession.

When I was still in my mom's womb, my father left me. He was a gambler, drunkard and a street-junkie which pushed my Grandfather to almost kill him. Luckily he escaped.

I had experienced a lot of work - A LOT of WORK. In my younger years, I used to be a houseboy to my neighbor. At the age of 12, I managed everything in their home. Cleaning, washing dishes, going to mercado (market). It was very tiring. In my high school years, I used to work as a laborer. My job is constructing booths for Job fairs or setting up booths in Cebu Trade Hall.

I was also a working student in my college years. I worked 5 hours in Guidance Office (A university office) as an exchange to my free school grant. I had an allowance of six pesos per hour (equivalent to 0.12 dollars per hour). But I quit the privilege when I was to become a 4th year student to cater mine and my family needs.

I applied as a call center agent in three different companies in a year. My job description are 2x Customer Service Representative, and 1x Market Researcher. I worked full-time and at the same time a full time student. Usually my duty schedule is from 10pm - 7am and my class if from 10:30 am to 7:00 pm. From Mondays to Fridays. I have a two day day off on Saturdays and Sundays but it didn't replenish my weariness. It was very tiring, IT REALLY WAS. I never beg help to my family with regards to my school needs because they also need help. That is the main reason why I quit my privilege in school and gamble my life working full time and studying full time.

WHAT I AM BRINGING TO STEEMFEST

As an inspiring Electronics Engineer, Computer literate, and not new to blogging with a lot of work experience. My testimony of how poverty can't dictate your future. Hopefully I can inspire people that poverty is not a hindrance in achieving your dream.

Also, sharing the platform of Steem and Steemit as a future giant online. I believe in their vision and I will definitely support @Dan 's decision.

I will definitely express my ideas and thoughts on how to improve steemit cause that's what engineers do, INNOVATION. Involving in community trending topics is one of my hobbies. I wanted to learn from them and engage my ideas for the betterment of the community.

MY BUDGET

I had a little savings here in Steemit. I didn't withdraw most of my SBD's here and pretty sure to have more. I will definitely save if I'm given a chance. This is a one - lifetime opportunity for me. This will help me grow as a better young professional.

I just need around $1500 to cater my needs returning in my country. That's around P75,000 pesos here in our country. I big amount but worthy to spend just to attend this kind of event.

If you want to help me, vote and resteem for me. I will surely do my best to make Steemit Community better.

ALL OUR DREAMS CAN COME TRUE, IF WE HAVE THE COURAGE TO PURSUE THEM - Walt Disney

Sort:  

Hope you will be able to attend SteemFest. Thanks for sharing your story. God bless.

Thank you #nextgen622. More power!

Inspiring story..thanks for sharing:) I follow and upvote you please follow and vote me too.thanks again:)

Thank you! I'll surely will :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93