Sort:  

I think this is not obvious to most steemit users, and I'm glad it is the default option.
It's really not necessary to understand all this to make a living on steemit!

True, but if the prices shift, you don't want to only recieve 75% value for your post payout either. Remember things are always fluctuating.

I'm unclear on this- how (or even why) would I devote much attention to current market value when the payout value is probably not that closely related to it due to volatility?
I agree with you completely about paying attention to the fraction (and user-controlled voting power), but my reasons are different- I want to reward to the degree I value others' contributions.

This post has nothing to do with voting. It's about posting. When you make a post you can get paid in 100% STEEM POWER or 50% STEEM POWER and 50% SBD. When SBD is worth more than $1 and less than STEEM, you are doing better to do a 50/50.

I agreed as 50/50 is best at beginning and to end as you said Remember things are always fluctuating.

I had no idea you could do this, thank you!

Thanks again for the info, I have seen a few posts about this but it is always good to hear things from a few different angles. I was personally converting my SBD to Steem and then into SP using the normal wallet and losing out on a lot of value as it gives you the rate of 1SBD = $1, when the trading price has been well above $1. I did not know that I should sell my SBD for Steem on an exchange and then Steem to SP. I have been using blocktrades to do so and it works great!

Do you mean if I convert steem dollar to steem via internal market do I need to still convert it to SP or I leave it at steem? Please I need suggestion I just converted my steem dollar to steem

Very logically and clearly explained. And while converting steem dollars to steem it's always important to use the internal market as s you mentioned too. I myself lost a lot of money while directly converting SBD to steem from the wallet. Thus thought I should specifically mention this for others to take notice. Good post. Cheers!!!

I am still learning this site but from your post i get something which is helpful to me in feature. As you described in post i think right now we have to choose 50-50 because 1 SBD = 2 USD but some people said in features steem will go high value.

Right, my bet is still that STEEM is your best long term value. Right now however, you can get more by doing a 50/50 post and using your SBD to buy more STEEM.

Can't forget the Narwhals who aren't minnows but aren't sharks/dolphins or whales....they swim slowly but have a big horn!

LOL Narwhals and their giant horn of "mystical and unknown" purpose.

Great info...it will help people out!

Nice article...I'm going to be selling my SBD on the open market now not just converting, Thanks!

Great heads up! Im learning more and more about Steemit and its different payouts every day. This platform is INSANE!!

Actually, another Steemian also advised me to do that and it does sound logical :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 66745.34
ETH 3326.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71