You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Why are millennials becoming online entrepreneurs and why is it forcing them to also learn Financial Understanding!?

in #minnowsupport6 years ago

@davidwardlow,

Good article. Good insight and some sage advice.

Us older generations are quick to castigate Millennials for their short-comings. Personally, I blame their parents.

Parenting ... is a verb.

Although lots of kids watched their parents lose their homes due to the financial crisis in 2008, that number pales compared to the number of kids who watched their parents lose their homes due to divorce.

Sort:  

Thanks @quillfire

Yes so true. Yes parenting has a lot to do with it. Being a Gen Xer I understand why our generation overdid it on the helicoptering and other things. I have a 7-year-old daughter. I used to do the helicoptering thing but I am grateful for my military background. It helps me a lot now.

Now I am giving her more and more responsibilities and let her solve things on her own.

I want her to grow up not being afraid of problems but to stop and think it through.

Yes divorce payed a big part as well. But it is funny divorce and single moms working as we grew up was also the norm for us but it made us more independent. Our parents had to leave us to make our own food and take care of ourselves while they went to work.

Thanks so much for your feedback and thoughts.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 58833.91
ETH 3155.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44