You can't do it alone - You need Communities

in #minnowsupport6 years ago (edited)

I'm sure nobody enjoys hearing that line. You can't do it alone, all of us, me included like to feel like we are capable, resourceful and able to pull ourselves by our own bootstraps as they say. But aside the idealistic self I may hold in a pedestal, I'm willing to embrace some realities about my own existence and drink some "wake up" juice.


img src

In the beginning many people jump on this platform with the idea that they will create amazing content (their version of course) and that by some sort of karma-like system followers and upvotes would follow their little journey. This particular experience depicted poorly in one line might actually happen, it might be the case that some people did jump on to Steem and simply by making awesome content they gained a giant following and thus, had success. However I can guarantee without having to do much exploration on the matter, that those cases are rare and few in between.

Planning for the Rule and not Exception

Is an essential part of drinking some of the "wake up" juice we all need. The truth is that for most of us, the content we create, specially at the beginning will have little to no effect on the speed of growth of our accounts. If thinking about it this way hurts your feelings and attacks your sense of merit, I get it, I had to go through the same thing and I too find it distorted. My opinion on the matter, that is to say how things should be, holds very little bearing on how things are currently, and I am one to prefer operating within the walls of reality.

If you are feeling a little frustrated


Thinking that things are not going according to plan, I submit to you the possibility that this feelings you are harboring in your heart might be a good thing for you. They might be the ones that wont allow you to fall into complacency and making an argument as to why none of us would benefit from complacency is not hard to do.

If my words are a little upsetting I apologize, but the truth is that It does upset me to see the complains that run rampant on this platform of ours, simply because somehow someway the users who actively share their negative opinion have decided that the best investment of their time is to call out the "evil whales" who control the rigged system.

Do something, Build something, Join Something


Or shutup, its really that simple. The idea that complaining ever accomplished a thing is laughable to say the least. Remember that guy that complained his way into success? I don't, I've never heard of such story, and I'm sure that's because you can't ask a rock to become a tree.

The truth is that for all the shortcomings that this blockchain might have, for all the issues on the code, the skewed distribution of the Steem Power, the drama of the sometimes ugly Trending page, there are thousands of beautiful things happening too. If you are struggling to see them, if you are struggling to embrace them, that might be because you've not made the decision to see them.

This reminds me very much so as to how the News Cycle Works in the world, specially in the information era. All you hear is how many people died, how many people got robbed, the attack to a certainly embassy, you get the idea.

My experience


Once I joined Palnet - Minnow Support Group everything changed. I understood what this place, this ecosystem was all about. It was not enough for me to show up, share posts about songs, stories and recycle old content. It was about building connections with other people, building a network around me of like minded individuals that care about the same things I do, people who are also looking for "the answers".

It's no secret, I've said this probably a hundred times before. Before I started participating of this blockchain, before I joined MSP and became a member of the #openmic I was very depressed. I thought It had to do with my economic situation, the businesses that I was attempting to run efficiently and constantly seemed to turn against me. (the perils of being an entrepreneur) - But I was wrong, very wrong. What I needed, what maybe we all do is human connection, that is where true wealth is mined, to use a word that belongs within our system's context.

And that is my message to you, specially if you are feeling a little lost, a little overwhelmed by this whole thing. Join a community, be part of that community, learn about other people, connect.... Next thing you know, you won't be making pennies, you will be making some double digits, but the best part is that you will enjoy the whole process so much more.

Much love



https://discord.gg/kNxM7T6


• Helpienaut Meeting May 21 / 2018
• Operation: We are The Open Mic
• No need to be anxious
• Open Mic Week 85 - Meno - Top 5 picks and Honorable Mentions
• New to Steem - Tip 5 - Steem or SBD's ?

Sort:  

Amen! I hear ya on that one, although I'm probably in too many groups at the moment but this is right on. More people who speak up about this the better. :)

You are in the Community of "Eagles against Oppressive Piggies" I know... I've heard.

hahha i like that name ... a lot!! If helpies is in that, then i am def there.

hahahahah yes of course, we are all there!

@meno sweet, not sure how i missed this comment but you know how it is when we get distracted! :) yay helpies!!

hey @meno I always take the time to read you, of everything you speak I feel a finiteness, the similarity of the failures, and although hard has been what you have said is very real, with the time of being here, it is understood clearly what this community is about, I would crash with this reality, I suppose that at your level it should not be painful, but day by day I go to bed with the hope of one day growing as an entrepreneur, and sometimes because the result does not show up, you make me think a lot Meno, thanks for the harsh reality XD, something else I do not want you to vote for me, I want you to simply listen, my participation for openmic, find it in my profile

@vladoramirez don't worry friend, as a judge I listen to all of them. Its the job really. I will get to it soon.

You know I love this one! Beautiful and to the point, a message that needs repeating over and over again :-)

swimming against the current of negativity!! right?

It seems as if you are sitting next to me while speaking this word of wisdom, the whole message if just for me.

Thank you very much, you cannot understand how much burden you have lifted from my shoulder with this message.

I'm connecting to msp immediately...

this brings a big smile to my face... im glad this helped you!

It indeed help, I'm feeling at home already... Thank you so much

frustation resist our energy and hope.... its true for me.... but a little hope grow to know your own experince.... thanks dear for share this post...

You can't do it alone - You need Communities

Absolutely, a tree cannot stand to make a forest, so we surely needs one another inorder to get things done perfectly. Individual and community are like entity that cannot be separated, if you decided to stay alone you can't benefit anything good.

However I can guarantee without having to do much exploration on the matter, that those cases are rare and few in between.

You are right about this too, I could say specifically that majority on this platform that make desirable success who actually don't invest much was through getting informed from people. .

Brother, you have actually started all the point you have it all, we have to learn on how this community work before dangling into making any post on our own, relate the people on community , appreciate them and in return all get all the benefits, you ever wanted.

Brilliantly said bud... I will quote you on this one day...

A tree cannot stand to make a forest

Carry on no problem, I always learn alot through your piece

but sometimes you went into Communities and you re still the lone wolf... nah i dont think about me, but i know there are a lot try to get into the communities and being the shadow in the edge where never be sun before...

some people take longer to learn to interact with others. some get it from the start.... kindness is the main token we must all commerce in..

you cant grab out if you dont donate in ;)

big love to you my friend Meno! You speak magic! This is exactly what people need to hear :) I wish I was around more to follow these words of wisdom, but currently my head is way outside of the steemisphere. someday I will come back to roost again......community is king! x x o o x x keep up your awesome work

Dude.. i put out an avocado with a candle outside to summon you.. and you didn't show up... i returned the avocado to the store but only got half price.

I'm very concerned with the worries of the angst. But... I hope, because candies and corn that you and your lady are doing awesome... I miss your crazy ways.

yeah..Unity is strength..
GOOD article

Ugh, this reminds me to spend more time chatting with people.

Much love for you, msp, and of course helpie. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52