24 days in: finding my purpose

in #minnowsupport7 years ago (edited)



I joined Steemit 24 days ago - gee, it feels much longer! - and initially the learning curve was quite steep. For starters I had no idea what cryptocurrency was and it has been a few years since I seriously blogged. Having ditched Facebook and deleted my account a few months ago I wanted an outlet for my occasional musings. This is when I heard about Steemit and I was fascinated by the concept, admittedly drawn by the premise of getting paid to blog - I have NEVER made any money on a blog before and Facebook certainly never paid me.

I made an introduceyourself post, which got me started with some followers and the post made around $20 - wow, could it actually be true? The first few days I spent trying to learn from many great steemians that had come before me - I read everything I could and took many of their words under advisement. I slowly refined what I would post, how I would present it and I engaged with the wider community by commenting on their posts, replying to comments on mine and trying to get involved in Steemit chat.

the-following-1-1920x1080.jpg

My followers steadily rose, especially as I made a point of visiting newly arrived steemians in the NEW tab and welcoming them in their introduceyourself posts. Trust me, a friendly welcome in a strange new place does wonders - be sure though to actually read their post and reply accordingly, rather that 'Welcome - follow me I'll follow you'. It just doesn't look good. At all.

I was slowly finding my feet, a few of my posts made quite decent payouts then things seemed to die down a bit. I didn't worry, I was still very new, I still am. As my main interest is 3D design and art I thought I would start a competition for digital artists - it is posted HERE if you are interested. In order to get it promoted a bit I thought I would get in contact with @aggroed via steemit chat to see if he had any ideas - he has an awesome series of getting started with steemit posts and he is doing great things trying to help the minnow community, so I thought he would be the ideal person to get in touch with. He linked me to a Discord chat and sent a few upvotes my way. Curious, I signed up for discord and joined the chat, totally unaware of what it was. I got chatting, registered there and met some really nice people. Ah, so this was the minnow support project I had started hearing about!

I'm happy to say this was 7 days ago and I have learned so much while the #minnowsupportproject has grown, it's membership has now swollen to 515! I have thrown myself into the community at PALnet - the minnow support project chat on Discord - and helped as much as I could with guiding new minnows through the sign up procedure. As great as the community is on Steemit, this is multiplied tenfold in PALnet. I have made genuine friendships, gained a greater following. I learned along the way, guided others. I have gotten great support and feedback from the other members and, at just the right time in my Steemit journey, I found a focus I needed, a drive to help and nurture my fellow minnows. It was never just about the money. It will come when it comes. This community right here is awesome but the community at PALnet is a whole other level of greatness.

To all you minnows who are struggling to get going, join us. We will all succeed faster if we help and support each other. We have all been there, we know what it's like to spend hours pouring over a keyboard, writing an epic post that ends up getting little viewership and fewer votes. We understand the struggle to get a following. Some - though not me - even understand this cryptocurrency malarkey. Although there are 2 voting bots there to use on your posts - once every 10 hours - if you do join, please don't let this be your only reason. You WILL get so much more out of engaging with the rest of us in chat. We are a friendly bunch and although we like to have fun and get a bit silly at times, we are there to help each other grow. You will find that you don't need to ask for votes or resteems, they will come organically as you form friendships. If you are interested in joining our growing number, visit us in chat on Discord HERE - quick note: you will need a little steem to register for both bots and for Streemian.com, a total of 0.003 steem. If you don't have enough steem let us know in our chat: a few of us greeters will happily send you the small amount needed.



Source 1, 2, 3, 4


Proud member and supporter of the #minnowsupportproject - brought to you by @aggroed, @ausbitbank, @teamsteem, and @canadian-coconut
Click HERE to learn more


Sort:  

as all the others have already mentioned, all the new minnows really should follow this post. I got all setup thanks to @gmuxx and he was really helpful getting everything setup over at discord. @aggroed is also extremely helpful and did i mention all the other people i chatted with there absolutely rocked? i feel very blessed for finding such a cool community and i truly am happy to meet each and every one of you from this minnow to you :)

Happy to have you onboard.

Together we grow!

Wow. Good job building such a strong following in 24 days!

Thank you

Thanks for your help.

It's not much but I just transferred today's 0.044 to minnowsupport.

My pleasure

Thank you for your donation to the project, every bit helps

Killing it @gmuxx ! Show me your ways please, I'd love to be where you are 20 days from now! I'm on discord but it's pretty foreign to me, how do i find palnet and get connected??

https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

Click the link and sign up. I'm in there a lot of the time, if not there are other great greeters who can help you

excellent post i have joined almost 10 days ago good to hear new things

your progression on the site is fantastic bro, we came around the same time too. Peace man lets keep growing together!

Minnows united!

hell yeah bro..hell yeah

It's only my fourth day on Steemit so I'm still finding my feet, except I've read quite a lot about Discord and I'm still not quite sure what it is! I guess it's all part of the learning curve, after all I only just got on board Steemit Chat yesterday. Thank you for your advice It really inspires newcomers such as myself :)

https://discord.gg/HYj4yvw

Discord is another chat platform. Join us in that link and we can help and support your growth

Nice post @gmuxx and has been a pleasure to meet you on Discord. Seriously guys, if any of you new guys here on Steemit need help in getting your feet wet, the minnowsupportproject is where you need to be!

Join us, you wont be sorry!

Nice to have you on board

Im glad I found your post, I started posted things yesterday, so have a lot to learn and I will follow your advice and join the minnowsupportproject.

Excellent, see you in the chat

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66703.61
ETH 3518.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68