My Introduction as Part of my new JOB :) as a Curator at MSP weekly Sustainability Digest

in #minnowsupport6 years ago (edited)

Hello dear Steemians,

I was planning to write a short intro as a part of an weekly curation post bu @torico on the topic of sustainability.
But as it usually happens with me, a short 50 word intro turned into a 600 words post :)

So here it is, my "short" introduction on why I think I will be a suitable new curator for the Minnow Support Project, sustainability weekly curation digest.

My story with hydroponics and urban farming began out of a passion for two seemingly contradictory but complementary domains - technology and nature.

Being a computer geek, a technology enthusiast and a nature lover led me more than seven years ago to a subject that now consumes me. At that time was just beginning to tickle what I now believe has the potential to change the world for the better and help humanity to deal with the ecological and nutritional challenges of the industrialized 21st century.

In 2011, I set up a hydroponic business whose aim was to introduce this revolutionary technology into people's lives with the help of easy to use growing systems that would give them the freedom to grow their own food, even without a garden or land.

It was not long before this vision expanded to providing professional knowledge to future generations by introducing the hydroponics technology into schools, thus providing them with the opportunity to learn and experience this new type of modern agriculture., to stimulate their curiosity and broaden the horizons of those who will soon lead to a change in consumption habits and the improvement of global ecology.

And to be honest there is nothing more beautiful to see, then a face of a child that understood something about this world, that his parents are still not aware of. From there, the road for integrating the technology in different organizations, associations, institutions for disadvantaged people, participation in a variety of social projects was short.

All those projects influenced and increased the exposure to all the potential that this technology has in helping to change the world.

In a relatively short time, hydroponics and Urban Farming simply became the right idea at the right time and place and I am grateful for the right to be part of a revolution that seems to be getting stronger. In addition to my work in the field, I have built an informative magazine website that provides free professional information, including DIY guides, and inspires anyone who is interested in the field and thinks about starting to grow his own food.

So to sum it up !

I have quite a few interests, I like coding, I like building websites, but the thing i like the most is being out there in the nature, to grow food and other kinds of plants , I like technology and utilizing it for all the other stuff mentioned above.

I love the concept of close cycles, of using the natures magic resources like solar power, like photosynthesis...but I also love automation and controlling the shit out of it by using modern solutions like iOT, smart sensors , etc…

I will do my best to use this weekly curation digest to find the most amazing posts written that week on like minded topics. I hope in the future we will be able to add some competitions and a little bit more interaction.

I want to thank our dear @torico , for giving me the opportunity to take her place as the curator of MSP Sustainability Curation Digest and I hope I’ll be able to step into her shoes and keep providing you with an awesome digest that will make you keep coming for more !

So if you are interested in sustainability, in gardening, urban farming or anything else to do with the environment, if you want to learn or teach ways in which we all can live more sustainable, be it with technology or 100 year old trick and techniques...make sure to follow me up and join our weekly curations!

And I'll leave you with this quote :)

“The greatest threat to our planet is the belief that someone else will save it.”
– Robert Swan, Author

See you next Sunday!

If you read this post and don't know what I am talking about, make sure to read the latest weekly Sustainability Curation by @torico

Sort:  

Hey!! congrats for this new opportunity and I wish you the best of luck!!
I'm very interested in city home gardening, and planing to start growing some herbs at home...
I'll be tuned!!

Hello Jorge,

Thank you very much for taking the time to comment.

I will be making lots of posts on this subject in the near future and there is also the Weekly Curation post of some of the great content on steemit, so make sure to visit every now and then, there should be some nice info around!

If you have any questions on how to start your our herb garden, I'll be happy to give you a few tips.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by carpedimus from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Awesome! Congrats on the new role! Very cool too about your hydro passion 😁🌿💚

Thank you very much dear.

Unfortunatly I won't be able to curate your great posts as you are already above the paygrade ;), but i will be there to read them for sure! :)

Thanks for taking the time to comment!

Haha I always wonder about that- what’s the paygrade for this one? 💖

Its not only about the pay-grade, it's really about your reputation and you post earnings.

The Minnow Support Project Curation are generally indented...well for Minnows :), that haven't received the exposure they deserve but still continue to write amazing content.

There are no strict rules for that really, but usually those will be posts from users below reputation of 55 or so and the posts should not have more then 10$ earnings in the time of the weekly curation post.

The idea is to help unexposed writers to get some additional eyes on their content and perhaps encourage them to write more...

Well well I have a new Steemian to follow! Looking forward to seeing the sustainability curation :) Best of luck!

Thanks Kiara

I feel flattered :)

Thanks for "tuning in", i hope you will find some interesting content here.

May I link this article and feature your username @carpedimus in the next issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter in order to get the word out? Let me know, thanks!

But of course :)

Thank will be much appreciated, thank you!!

Congratulations!
What you're doing with hydroponics is so fantastic. I've never used this method as I have a fair amount of dirt and manure to grow in, but maybe one day during the winter I will give this a try indoors!
Take care <3

Thank you @amymya,

Yeah growing in plain old "dirt" will never grow old :), the smell of the soil, the amazing micro-cosmos of life that is created in the procces is exciting in my opinion...by growing your food (organically) you create so much life in the proccess and prvide this life with food as well.

And as much as i would love us all to simply grow some food in their gardens or land plots (as we all used back in the days :)) , unfortunatly this is not really possible nowdays.

So for me soil being out of the question (i live in a very dense city), i had to find some other solutions...so hydroponics was the natural choice.
Now that i know that on top of allowing me to grow in places i usually couldnt, hydroponics can also be much more efficient with the resources (you can save up to 80-90% of water used for conventional farming/gardening) and of course the land space (i am growing over 50 plants per SQM)...i must admit that this technology became much more then a hobby for me...i really believe it can be a solution to one of our upcomming challenges as a species - feeding us all!

Thanks for taking the time to connect, i hope you will have a chance to try it out your self, you can even start with a small "DWC" growing box for herbs that you can grow right in your kitchen...i think you going to like it ;)

Will be happy to guide you through...

This post has received a 1.01 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @carpedimus.

Wow! Congratulations on the curator position, that is perfect.

Very nice post, love seeing the passion and of course the hydroponics!

Keep it up.

Thank you very much my friend!
It is a passion indeed :)

Will do my best to contiue writing as much as I can!

Thanks for the comment, I appreciate it.

Happy Sunday! This comment is to inform you that your article has been linked and featured in the most recent issue of the Weekly Homesteading Newsletter! Thanks and have a great day!

Congratulations @carpedimus :) How great that you found your passion and are living your dream! It must be so inspiring to be able to teach people to grow their own food without access to land. Thank you for doing that good work!! Looking forward to your curation and learning from the wisdom of folks here on steemit :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54605.61
ETH 2303.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31