The Old Dog Discusses: Helping Planktons And Minnows on The Steem Blockchain

in #minnows5 years ago (edited)


In the last few days I've come across posts by long time Steemers wherein they discuss helping and retaining new members. This is a problem!

In this one by @steevc Ten K Minnows Project: Brainstorming he outlines the problem and refers to his interaction with the well know community builder and trouble shooter @pennsif 

Both of these experienced members specifically mention the under utilization of contests by Steem block chain users. @pennsif made a partial list of contests here: SoS : Contests roundup @ 21 February 2019  [Spread the news & win GAME tokens]


Image courtesy of pixabay.com

Please Note My discussion With @steevc and @pennsif Here


A Killer DApp For Contests!


I maintain that we need a front end for contests. A landing page where those interested in contests and prizes can find all current contests in an easy to navigate and constantly updated format. This could be a huge new community for us! Could something along the lines of what SteemHunt is doing work well?

We could find a way to monetize the site and it could also attract outside advertisers, prize donators and new users!

To understand how popular internet contests are a google search shows many sites listing the various on line contests.

For example

Who Will Build It?

I'd love to see members like @starkerz and @anarcotech co-founders of  Oracle-D and the Steem Business Alliance get involved in such a project. Or what about @exyle and his merry band at @blockbrothers?

If someone wants research done or brainstorming ideas I'm a low tech businessman and serial entrepreneur with lots of ideas and I'm available for discussions.

If We Build It They Will Come! What Do You Think?

  • Do you see the potential of a contest DApp for the Steem blockchain?
  • Do you think that it would help sub minnows and minnows?
  • Would it help with user retention?
  • Could it attract outside advertisers?


Thanks for following me on my travels and I look forward to sharing my adventures with you. 
 

Until next time,  

 

 @kus-knee (The Old Dog) 

Let's Succeed Together!




Sort:  

I'm just a few days old on Steemit and it's a challenge as a newbie/plankton for sure. Limited RC etc. Sticking with it in the hope I learn more as i go...but not easy !

Posted using Partiko Android

To be sure. Why not check out my latest contest?

Ok. Will take a look :)

Posted using Partiko Android

This post has been included in the latest edition of SoS Daily News - a digest of all you need to know about the State of Steem.

Thanks a lot. Some good things are already coming from the comments in this thead!

How can I reach you?

Oh yes you know I am a big fan of your contests! I think it is an easy way for new people to get involved and for others to feel part of the community. A dApp of contests would be a great opportunity!

Check out this comment right from the horses mouth:

"Already planned to be part of Oracle-D's V2.0 platform coming out in 3-4 months from now."

It is indeed a good idea.

I was looking at it last week...

The whole area of games, gaming, contests, competitions could be a real front-runner for Steem.

I am launching The GAME Show on Thursday to pick up on this...

Life is a Game. Play it on Steem

I still remember "throwing a bone" for the best comment on your posts. I won that too. It feels great to win, especially when you are a newbie. You helped me a lot to be successful on steemit. You are great dear brother!

Thanks so much. I appreciate it!

As @steevc already knows, I'm a bit sceptical of competitions. When I first joined there was very few, there was stuff like @minnowbooster and a couple of Lottery type offerings as well as services offering to upvote you for a couple of dollars. I took a break from Steemit for around four or five months and having come back, or at least notched up my activity a couple of gears I've noticed how every other post or three in row is a competition of one sort or another offering you payouts in return for your hard earned dollars. I was that depressed I wrote a post about it.

Personally, I just think there are some elements praying on the desperate with all these 'Games' I prefer services like @shadowbot who just ask to use your voting power and who in turn use the groups voting power to upvote you. It's always a danger when money is involved, it does tend to bring out the sharks.


What someone says is far more important than how they say it!
Don't forget, you can upvote comments as well as posts!

I understand your thoughts but here I think we need to differentiate between upvote bots, gambling DApps and pure contests.

In a pure contest like the ones I run there is nothing required from the member entering apart from, for example submitting a photograph. In return they get an upvote for their comment, perhaps an upvote for an article that they've written about their submission, a chance for prize money (Steem) which is completely funded by me and a lot of fun!

It's a win win win situation! :)

Does that change your thinking at all?

Oh, I'm behind anything that doesn't require a payment (Dollars) to partake. I don't even have a problem with allowing control of ones voting as is the situation with @shadowbot I just dislike the ones that take $2.00 or SP from minnows who've probably only got $10 or 10 SP to start with.


What someone says is far more important than how they say it!
Don't forget, you can upvote comments as well as posts!

Excellent review @kus-knee and I am sure that contests are a great idea to support not only fry, but the whole ecosystem!

I think so too!

Already planned to be part of Oracle-D's V2.0 platform coming out in 3-4 months from now.

Very good news! Can we have a teaser post?

I fully agree with you. Holding competitions on Steem is certainly a great potential. Competitions will be useful to everyone. With proper organization, competitions can become an indispensable multi-functional tool. One of the methods of motivation stays and attract other users After all, contests give a chance to get recognition of their true merit parties surrounding plus monetary remuneration.

The first one to take on the task in professional way will have a nice product!

Hi @kus-knee

You might want to take a look at what @dosdudes are doing regarding contests. They haven't built a dapp but they are encouraging people with upvotes to list their contests for the daily round up post on the condition that there are genuine prizes offered and no upvote, resteem or follow required.

They are very keen to get good contests growing again.

Thanks I'll have a look.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95