MINNOW OF THE WEEK: HOW I JOINED STEEMIT

in #minnowoftheweek7 years ago (edited)

1490781645984.jpg
ABOUT ME
I am Akinlotan Oluseyi Williams, a graduate of English and Literary Studies from the greatest African university, Obafemi Awolowo University. I hail from Otan Ayegbaju, Osun state in the South Western part of Nigeria. I own my personal blog, which is OLUSEYI WILLIAMS BLOG, named after me as a result of the value placed on name in this part of Africa. There is a saying that “a good name is worth more than gold or silver”. I’m the last child of the family of four boys, or preferably men. I’m blessed with a lot of nicknames. I can boldly say I have different nicknames in every stage of my life due to the fact that I meet new set of people and they tend to give me a name after few moments of interactions. Some of my nicks are Willy (a diminutive of Williams), Bansey ( a blend of ‘Baba’ which means father in my native language Yoruba and Seyi, which is my first name), Mr OWB (OWB is an acronym for my blog), OBO (This is an acronym for ‘Omo Baba Olowo’ in my native language, Yoruba- It means Son of a wealthy man) and so on.

I’m an introvert, I could spend the whole day indoors reading or having fun with my video games when am not working. I’m a staunch lover of Manchester United FC – the Red Devils. I love writing, editing and proofreading works, this makes me happy. In other words, I do it with pleasure. This could be as a result of my acquaintance with basic rules that govern language in general, and English language to be specific.

HOW I DISCOVERED STEEMIT
There is a popular saying that you cannot lead the horse to the river and force it to drink. This saying best describes me. I was introduced to Steemit about 7 months ago by a very good friend turned brother @mediahousent, he told me everything I had to know from how it operates to the rules and regulations that govern it as well as the basic and ultimate force that will keep me going. He said, “Creativity and Consistency is required for survival on steemit. I know you to be a creative person, my guy and I know you can do this.” I ignored all he was saying and paid little or no interest to it because I saw it as a form of cajoling and flattering to get my attention to join the platform.
IMG_20180109_155602.jpg
Initially, I had no interest because I have been a victim of so many proxy sites and I thought Steemit is also one of them. Guess what? My mentality towards Steemit changed when @leadent360 in conjunction with @genesis-project organized the 1st Steemit In Nigeria conference (S.I.N) in Ile Ife, Osun state, Nigeria headed by @ehiboss and his colleagues. I was hired as a publicity manager for S.I.N and I cannot do this work effectively without reading about the platform. I did my research and realised that STEEMIT IS REAL.

To cut the long story short, I joined steemit early November after the Steemit in Nigeria conference and it has been a lovely experience here.

So far, I have been an active member even though I get discouraged at times due to low comments and upvotes on posts I worked on between 2-3 days. But, I am not giving up. I enjoy the atmosphere hrere. I admire the fact that there are no trolls and if anyone dares do that, he/she will face the consequences – flagging. This isn’t present in other social media platforms that exist. That’s a thumb up for Steemit.

In addition, have been able to introduce two persons to the platfrom, @matthewthonyit, @matthiasjohn. This is just the beginning.
1498326270974.jpg
MY GOAL ON STEEMIT
In the introductory part of this post, I made mention of my vast knowledge about the rudiments of English language. I have been using these principles to write educational posts on how to use English more effectively for both speakers of English and non-speakers of the Language. We all use Language everyday of our life and it is good when we have mastery in it. Simply put, my goal is to educate on my blog how best to use the English Language.

WHY I DESERVE TO WIN
I deserve to win because I would be able to extend my posts to more people, be it, students preparing for examinations, or working class readers that need to improve their communication at work and so on.

INCLUDE A LINK TO YOUR BEST POST
Learn More About These Popular Internet Language

I’d like to appreciate @runicar for this rare opportunity as well as my good friends on Steemit @nonameslefttouse, @endorphoenix, @mediahousent, @ehiboss @camzy, @heeyahnuh, @matthewthonyit, @matthiasjohn, @rebeccafl, @sushie

IMG-20180117-WA0021.jpg
Art by @camzy

DQmYfKYGX2M8Qc8nNUi6TqUzHKoeLmafZ6PVBMjt7wjXe5R.gif

Sort:  

Welcome to steemit !! MY SCANNER AUTOMATICALLY SCAN YOU...
Hello and welcome to the community. I followed you and would appreciate a follow back. I'm looking forward to see more posts! Have a great day and have fun. Welcome!

Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow @imtiyaz4u
get back to back in touch for upvote

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62795.57
ETH 2581.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74