MINNOW OF THE WEEK 🐟 : The Anonymous But Real @wanderlass ✈

in #minnowoftheweek6 years ago (edited)


I am @wanderlass and I am posting anonymously. Here you can see a photo of me hiding for my re-introduction post. For now, I would like to be anonymous because there were a lot of personal things that happened to me last year which made me deactivate my other social media accounts. Maybe one day when I am more comfortable, I will reveal my face here. Although I do not show my face, I feel comfortable sharing my truest and most honest thoughts. For some reason, I feel that I will be protected here in Steemit so I can be my true self.

I chose the name @wanderlass because I really, really, really love to travel. I do not travel full time though, at least not yet! I have a full time job in an Australian bank based here in Manila, and I also have a part time online job where I teach English to Japanese students. I think my spoken English is better than my written English so I passed as a tutor for this subject (so yeah, sorry for some written grammatical errors).


Biking around Bangkok


I have traveled around the Philippines, in Asian countries and just recently to the United States. I live my daily life below my means so I can travel more. I like good food, dressing up and all those other girly stuff, but I love traveling more. I have given up buying new clothes, eating in fancy restaurants and shopping so I can do more of what I love. I save a lot to see the world because that is when I feel more alive.


🐟 🐟 🐟 Meeting Steemit 🐟 🐟 🐟


Last year, I was at the lowest point in my life which made me different now. Prior that stage, I was the friendliest and perkiest person in the room. I was hyper and I liked doing a lot of things. I did not rest. I also did some charity and volunteer work. And all those have stopped when I got depressed. Today, I will have lunch in the office alone, have little to no personal conversations with my colleagues, and I even lost my excitement to travel.

But I guess there’s a reason why it happened.

When you feel like you’re going nowhere in your life, that’s when you become really desperate and look for an opportunity.

And I found that opportunity through cryptocurrencies. To cut the story short, it was through studying and researching about cryptocurrencies that I got to learn about Steemit.

Seeing the chance for a better life plus the positive community convinced me to sign up. I had a one week off during the holiday season which enabled me to dedicate my entire time to Steemit. I wasn’t posting long blogs then but I was talking to several people, reading content, and learning about Steemit non-stop.


❤ A Whirlwind Romance Journey ❤


My most recent post is a love letter to Steemit to celebrate our 1st Monthsary! (Yes, I was talking to him like he is my boyfriend in this post). This is a one month review of my experiences and lessons here. This is one of my most creative post so far because I wrote it with all my emotions and honesty, and a bit of fun too! My journey in Steemit is like a love at first sight and whirlwind kind of romance. I just got hooked with all the positivity. I was really down and having an outlet now to write and talk to people who I know will not judge me is just liberating.


👪👪👪 The Values I Bring 👪👪👪


I am growing here in Steemit through the help of several people from my fellow newbies to the established ones. And this is what I love here. It is through helping one another and making real connections which will make you grow here. This is the value that I want to bring even now as a small minnow.

I know that I have little influence now but if all of us - little minnows - move, then that would bring about a big wave in
the Steemit ocean.

I try to answer some questions other newbies have when I encounter them in their comments or posts, and give them words of encouragement. Recently, I participated in the #newbieresteemday by @davemccoy and will continue to support efforts in helping out fellow newbies. The next plan is to join a comment competition by @danielsaori and I will be there to support and even give my tiny upvote to the newbie participants. And there are several plans coming up that I will surely support so that newbies don’t feel lost in this platform.


🌟 🌟 🌟 Why Should I Win? 🌟 🌟 🌟


This is a question that I leave to anyone reading this. I do not really want to decide whether I should win or not. Being inspired to write this post makes me feel like a winner already! To be honest, I am not always inspired to write a post daily and it is not easy for me as I am just learning to blog. But this post just had me typing on this keyboard and thoughts just kept flowing from my head!

And so I thank @runicar for hosting such helpful contests to minnows like us. On top of the rewards, it gives us inspiration and ideas to write. In fact, this is the 3rd contest by @runicar that I am joining. I joined the Steemit World Map Challenge and the New Art Caption contests last week. I hope you don’t get tired seeing me join your different competitions, @runicar!

To the Moon!

Sort:  

Upvoted because apparently I forgot to the other day, and to help fund your continued travels.

Aww thank you so much @geekpowered I always appreciate your generous votes :) I hope one day I can also upvote you with more than $0.03 coz I also like your geeky posts :)

Keep writing. It's great to hear some honesty, and I must say: Beautiful dress! And I love the background it's a great shot the only thing it's missing is your face.

Salamat @jocrazy hope to see your first blog soon! :)

Whatever contest you join, I'll always wish for you to win :) I'm glad you discovered Steemit. Although it was because you've had a hard time, still I feel it was so you can be in a place where you are closer to fulfilling your dreams of wandering around the world. Just be yourself :) You are appreciated here.

Thanks sis! I appreciate your support. At okay magjoin ng mga contest while wala maisulat :)

I LOVE your use of markdown. It's so simple and looks so good. I might just take inspiration from it, haha.

If I could vote, I'd vote for you. :)

Thanks @kassixo I'm enjoying styling my posts and sometimes experimenting too. Yeah you should also explore the different markdown tags that we can use. I just find it difficult sometimes coz not all codes work here or I'm doing it wrong. But we'll eventually learn more :)

Your support here already makes me happy :)

You just have to be sure you're not using fancy editor. Or if you are doing that right now, then this limits your use to markdown/html code.

I'm doing it in the editor here in Steemit. I find others more complicated to use as I would not to re-edit when I copy it here. :)

Hi @wanderlass. Just keep swimming

Thanks @monkeypattycake I'll swim mala-Dory :D

God first voter without any payout. So embarrassing. But one day I'll become big enough to give you a 100$ vote. Welcome to steemit. Hope to see your beautifu smiling face very soon. God bless you. Be happy. Life is all about ups and downs. Just enjoy. Love. Peace.

I appreciate your support and words of encouragement @drskhan90 I value that more than the value of the vote. So please don't worry about it. Thank you very much! :)

Awwww. So sweet of you. Keep updating.

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61757.83
ETH 2905.75
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62