Minnow Of The Week: The Emergence Of An Exceptional Steemian || The Journey Of 2 Months On Steemit

in #minnowoftheweek6 years ago

IMG_20180306_115205_542.jpg

I was cornered with my deepest thoughts. With no dime on me to feed. I got tired of life. Because all hope was lost. And there was nowhere to go. No one to look unto. It felt like the end was near. It was the third day I last put food in my belly. And when the thought of giving up crossed my mind, @adesojisouljay played the role of an angel sent from above in my life. I look back and it all seems like yesterday. I can't thank @adesojisouljay enough for bringing me to this platform. Not so many people show their friends how they make their dough. And for him alone, I construct this short sentence:

He who gives you from his riches is a good man, he who shows you how to make your own riches is a god - @teekingtv 2018.

My name is Tee King, a Nigerian living in Lagos. I studied Computer Science at the reputable Lagos State Polytechnic.
I am well known for my smartness and brilliance when studies is concerned. I have high regards for everyone around me; the elders and the younger ones. I have no tolerance for discrimination and I ensure a friendly relationship with people around me. Despite being from a lowly background, I am a social type who loves to hang out with friends. My being obsessed with computing related stuffs (hardware, software, networking and graphics) is well known.
My journey of two months on Steemit is filled with anecdotes and exhilarating events. Learning everyday on the platform, making my blog distinct without copying someone else work (I’d say if you see anyone who’s blogging on Steemit Global Meetup Records, Catalogs and Analysis, such person is imitating me).

  • Discovering this platform

So it’s 2 months already on this amazing platform? Like I highlighted above, Steemit came into my life when I was at the corner, needed a help but wouldn’t get any. Discovering this platform is the best thing that has ever happened to me this year. I was as broke as anything you can think of. “Hey Tee, heard of Steemit? That social media that rewards you for doing your stuff… Since you blog on BlogSpot on WordPress already, this’d help you greatly and you’d blend quickly”, I remember vividly how @adesojisouljay got me here.

At first, I didn’t believe him. MMM, Ultimate Cyler and other ponzis have wrecked my life more than even a murderer deserves. I mean countless Nigerians fell victims of internet scam courtesy of ponzis. He later called me, explained how it works and how much he’s made in few weeks of joining. Well, I was a blogger, blogging has been my habit (and to be candid, the rewards attracted me). So I decided to give it a trial and see how things work. And that was how I embarked on this amazing journey.

The journey so far, filled with anecdotes

My journey of 2 months on Steemit could be defined as one filled with roughness, hilarity, anecdotes, learning and setting goals. I remember when I first came here. I wrote my introduction post and made around 2.7SBD. Then, SBD rate was around $7/SBD. I had almost $20 on me for the first time in several months and the feeling was beyond excitement. It came in at the right time. An average Nigerian steemian know how much a single SBD worth in the country. And after selling it through a guy from @airhawk-project, I subscribed for internet data bundles and spent the remaining to get some food. "An empty stomach can never work efficiently" they say. So I prepared myself and resumed as a full-time steemian. I thought I'd be earning the reward I earned on my introduction post on every of my post.

I'm sure you know the next line already. Things turned out to be the exact opposite of my expectations. The subsequent posts to my introduction post were beautifully decorated with $0.00 and the highest I could get were roughly $0.05. But my experience as a blogger before joining Steemit made me understand that blogging generally aren't always easy at the beginning (unless you've got tremendous buck to pour in).

After playing around for few days, I decided to focus on a particular niche; blogging about Promo-steem Meetups Around The Globe. I found this to be an untapped topic. Despite much Promo-steem Meetup events being held here and there around the globe, no one was taking catalog records of them. @kesolink's helped me with words of encouragement and he was so proud to see me thought of bringing my own idea and not someone else's. I decided to come in and focus on this niche. And I became the first person to be doing this before seeing another Nigeria steemian trying to do this as well (he's already posted his first record and he got unimaginable visibility because he's been on Steemit for long and already has lots of connections) few days ago. Ever since I started taking Meetup records, I've been battling with visibility. That's always the problem of we minnows. I've been looking for ways to make my blog visible by interacting and socializing with different steemians from different part of the world. Not every whale wants to socialize themselves with minnows, but I'm able to make few friends regardless of reputation.

Great people I've met ever since I joined Steemit

I can’t start this line without mentioning @runicar, the brain behind this contest. Even though I utilized his contest to write a post to celebrate my 2 months on Steemit, I really appreciate his efforts on we minnows. I don’t know if I should call it luck, despite being new on the platform, I’ve been able to get interacted with some big guns in this community. I've received words of encouragement from steemians who have been blogging long before I joined the platform. They are the source of strength and they are the reason I’ve been able to endure the hardship of a minnow. They include (but not limited to) @pennsif, @techslut, @eurogee, @kesolink, @dsatria, @davemccoy, @nairadaddy, and so many more. I don’t engage in contests. I believe they’ll get me distracted from my main area of focus. I have this urge for success as a steemian and I’ve been working really hard on my niche. I’ve seen couple of blogs that look so crappy to me. A glance and you can see they don’t have a niche and I don’t wanna end up like that and so I stopped checking on contests and never engage in one until I found a contest hosted by @danielsaori. It happened to be the first and the only contest I’ve engaged in so far and luckily for me, I was able to won it. It was so unbelievable. That brought 10SBD to my wallet last week. Also I appreciate @bunnypunia, @jaff, @sirsticks, @princeemmanuel, @tojukaka, @nxtblg, and @mariska.lubis, these people have encouraged me through their comments on my posts

Amazing groups I’ve had contact with

The only group I can mention here is @airhawk-project Whatsapp group. @adesojisouljay got me the link and asked me to join, saying I could transact my Steem and SBD for FIAT currency in a couple of minutes with them. Ever since I’ve joined Steemit, every SBD or Steem I’ve changed to FIAT currency has been through them and @lincom and @composer are my close friends who I sell my Steem and SBDs to. Aside that group, I have no contact with any Discord or Whatsapp group.

Amazing adjustments that have happened to me ever since I joined Steemit

• Unless you don’t wanna be, Steemit makes every blogger on it a better writer. I could never imagine myself sitting down to write an article this long before joining Steemit. See me now (chuckles).
• I’ve become more socialized. I interact with different people from different origin and made couple of friends thanks to Steemit.

  • With Steemit, I've been able to think in a different (better) way.

The little value I’ve added to Steemit in my own way.

• Like I said above, I’m the first (and still the only active and devoted) Promo-steem Meetup Around The World records taker. I have a catalog I update every 3 days. I started doing this the month I joined Steemit which was January and I’ve been doing that till now. You may check my latest record update of promo-steem Meetup Around The World here.


My Promo-steem Global Meetup Records logo

• Also I write weekly Meetup analysis article featuring the four greatest Promo-steem Meetup around the world every throughout the week. Check my last analysis here.

meetup.jpg
One of my weekly analysis artwork

• I’ve been promoting Steemit on the most used social network in Nigeria (and probably in the world even though Steemit is about to take that title), Facebook. I love this platform. It’s made me a better person.

Steemit is a life changer. It has indeed changed my life and I will forever be grateful.


That’s all, guys. If you’re still reading this until now, I can’t thank you enough. Not everybody could read such a boring post this long. THANK YOU SO MUCH.

I’ll be waiting on your comments as I look forward to making new friends through this post. Thanks you once again, God bless, regards and happy steem!!!

Sort:  


Hello @teekingtv!

I noticed you have posted many times since you began your journey on Steemit. That is great! We love active partipants.

I do want to point out that the Introduceyourself tag is meant to be used once only to introduce yourself to the Steemit community. You have now posted 9 times using the introduceyourself tag. Please see this link for more information Tag Spam?

Please take this into consideration and help build a great platform!


Welcome to Steem @teekingtv.

Do read A thumb rule for steemit minnows - 50:100:200:25 for starter tips.

Spend time reading Steem Blue Paper to know how Steem blockchian works and if you still have any queries ask them on our Ask me anything about Steemit post and we will try to answer that.

All the Best!!!

Welcome once again. For you to have gotten this far in two months, it means you've worked hard. Keep steeming!

It is a very great honor to see you here placing comment.
Thanks so much for your kind words.

Nice work

You have been my inspiration on this platform bro.
I have a alot to tell about you but not just on steemit, you have been a teacher, friend, brother, advisor to me.
I can't forget how you introduced me to this great family also in February, I appreciate the fact that while you are growing yourself in life you bring others along with you.
I know what you can do right from school days, and I believe not even the sky can restrict you. Thanks for the opportunity.

Boss, this is so humbling. My head is gonn' burst if you keep this up. LOL
Thanks so much sir

Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have been defended with a 1.27% vote... I was summoned by @ejemai! I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...Whoosh

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66149.79
ETH 3275.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71