Minnow of the Week: "A Turning Point"

in #minnowoftheweek6 years ago (edited)

As I was skimming down my feed, I have encountered this contest initiated by @runicar and it reminds me of my purpose why I am here continuing making blog posts despite the frustrations I am experiencing. I’m not saying I’m near to giving up but I guess I need more inner drive to keep going. In this post, I’m going to share what I’m passionate about and what drives me to continue steeming,

I have been here in Steemit for about a month already and I should say I become absorbed in it.

happyme.JPG

I am Levin R. Torrevillas, born and raised in a beautiful country which is located in Asia- the Philippines. Fun fact- I got my name from a famous brand of a motorcycle headgear. I didn’t bother my parents anymore to explain it to me though. Lol. I just graduated last July 2017 with a Degree in Psychology. Now, I aspire to become a Registered Psychometrician, that’s why I’m working my ass off to pass the Psychometrician Board Exam this year. I still have a long way to go and I have lots of reviews to do. Aside from that, I’m a local dance performer under the name of “League of Aces” (previously Dance Impulse Prod.) and at the same time I do humanitarian works, as the President of the Rotaract Club of Iligan Maria Cristina, sponsored by the Rotary International. On a more personal note, I define myself as someone who is between introvert and extrovert called the ambivert. Sometimes I love spending a day alone and sometimes with my barkada (“circle of friends” in English). I find myself somewhere in between these 2 personalities and that’s just who I am and what I prefer to be.

mendmygirlsss.JPG

Steemit Journey

My first blog posts, aside from my intro, were all photography contest entries. I was fond of taking pictures just to have an entry for @kalemandra and @juliank’s photocontests and my friends can attest to it how enthusiastic I was. I then realized I need to take a plunge in making more interesting posts that can attract more visitors. I was unsure before of what to do first but Ate @kneelyrac guided me with all the details and even organized deadlines for every topic to keep me working. She also introduced me to the #steemitachievers team where I found and virtually met awesome and superb humans including @lebron2016 @long888 @mermaidvampire @wanderingartist @deeday31 @tjcdc @junebride @g10a @wondratv @maverickinvictus and the inspirer of all inspirers @surpassinggoogle. They all have the workmanship on their crafts that I admire so much and I dream of becoming like them soon. I can’t forget their efforts in welcoming and helping out newbies like me. I’m more than honored to be part of the team and I can’t thank you enough guys for all the pieces of advice and words of encouragement you have given me to keep my eyes on the prize (I’m not talking about the earnings but the learnings I get from this platform).

My Steemit journey has been one that I could call a turning point of my life. Steemit has paved the way for me to see virtually the diversity of human existence. It has opened not just doors but windows to more opportunities. I may be considered new to this platform but during those sleepless nights being here, I have witnessed how incredible the platform is- from reading blog posts up to having conversations with other amazing individuals. As what I’ve said from one of my posts, Steemit gives a chance for everybody to experience the lives of others. Indeed, this is a great time for all to know how wonderful Steemit is and what it can do to people. It’s never about the earnings that you will be having after payouts but it’s about being able to share ideas in the pursuit to inspire and motivate others to continue living life to the fullest despite some unfortunate circumstances that each of us may encounter.

Goal on Steemit

So far, my journey here is worthy and productive. I have been joining contests these past days and luckily I won 4 out of the 5 contests that I have entered. I never expected to have received so much reward just by commenting my thoughts and creating essays and poems about a certain topic. I only found my niche and I will keep on doing it. I had been feeling frustrated for some of my posts that didn’t receive enough rewards but I never thought of quitting instead I kept on planning for my future posts and being consistent with the contests I’m joining.

My ultimate goal now is how am I going to make myself more visible to others. I’m now starting to engage more to people and comment on others’ posts because I guess it’s one of the purposes of this platform- to be in harmony with other people you follow and following you. Ate @kneelyrac told me once that I have to be more sociable and interactive with different individuals to gain not just friendship but also a good support system. It’s another key to success here on the platform (It’s a good tip for other minnows out there). Anyhow, I would love to reach out to more people and read a lot more about others’ cultures and traditions. It makes me want to go and experience other places even more because Steemit has provided me a glimpse of this world.

Values I bring to the community

As a member of an organization which aims to reach out to people and make a difference through humanitarian services, the Rotary International, I desire to extend our mission here in Steemit in which I can be able to communicate with diverse people and maybe soon collaborate in creating projects that will benefit those who are in need. Steemit will be a good bridge to send hope and help communities who are experiencing unfortunate events like catastrophes. I have already shared in my previous blogs the programs and activities we do in our organization. Through Steemit I think I can get direct contact with other people who have the same interests like mine. I’m going to use the opportunity of being here to spread positivity and inspire others with my vision for a better world. I’m only one person here trying to talk this all out but I believe that this small act that I am taking will have a great impact to the future and I know soon together we can do so much.

14291810_311809032505631_4812471478640597825_n.jpg
ROTARACT-COLLAGE.png

Some of the activities we had in Rotary International last 2017

Why I deserve to win

Being a Steemian holds a big responsibility to share an interesting part of one’s life- may it be knowledge learned from school or from the experiences that once broke and shaped the individuals. I deserve to win this contest because I have been through these things and I’m here in Steemit to serve its purpose to connect with others and share my outlook in life. I may only be a month old here but I am more than willing to invest more of my time and effort to create more quality contents and become an inspiration to others with my passion. I have seen fellow steemians who love what I love and care about what I care about and that’s why I’m motivated to keep on working and creating a difference through my own little ways in this social platform.

3080ef4064ccce74fd9e54786e4da308.jpg
Source

To comply with the requirement of this contest, here’s by far my best post that has the most earnings as well- My Steemit adventure. This was my entry for @surpassinggoogle's #untalented-adjustments contest.

I hope you had fun reading this blog. I am really delighted to share this one to you! Thanks for dropping by! ;)

By the way Steemians!!
I encourage you all to support and vote
Terry @surpassinggoogle as your witness. Read his blogs and Im sure you'll be inspired. Thank you!
Just click here and type 'steemgigs' on the first box.

a.png
b.png

U5dtTkKheiGA5GsgxJfpP9pgg1YV4Bc_1680x8400.png
STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF.gif

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by levinvillas from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Welcome to steemit. :)

Thank you! Actually this is my entry to an ongoing contest initiated by @runicar. :)

I know...i have participated in the same...that's where i found your blog :)

oh thats why! hehehe

This post was resteemed by @steemvote and received a 31.01% Upvote

Congratulations @levinvillas! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

It's our pride to have you friend. You deserve so much success. Don't worry soon you'll be succeeding more than us. hehe.

So grateful to be here knowing that i have found friends like you @lebron2016. thank you po! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.033
BTC 62121.36
ETH 3004.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.71