MINNOW OF THE WEEK - I REPLACED MY BOSSY BOSS WITH STEEMIT

in #minnowoftheweek7 years ago (edited)

Someone said people don't actually leave their jobs, they leave or replace their bosses, that should explain my title a bit but i don't want to move ahead of myself, I will get to that later.

Little about Me

My name is Ayodeji from Ibadan, Nigeria. I am from a family of two - just me and elder brother. We indeed two as I lost my parents a while ago. I am a graduate of computer Science from the University of Ilorin. I kinda cherished that B.Sc certificate. Although I am not currently working or plan to work with it but it is just there to motivate and remind me I can do anything if I put my mind on the task. How I 'hustled' to get that certificate after dropping out from another university without any sponsor is another story for another post.

My Steemit journey

I have embraced the internet as another Country sort of, United State of Internet sounds nice? In this country, there is no barrier as you can trade, work, learn, love, make friends, have different dealings etc. There is no borders or restrictions. I am a netizen so most of my dealings are on the internet.
I joined Steemit though my friend @lemmybe who I happened to be his advisor on domain name business. He introduced Steemit to me and turned my advisor on Steemit matter.
I joined Steemit 48 days ago, December 1 precisely. I wanted to say Steemit is the best online business I have been on but I can't even call it that. All I am doing here is having fun, I share my thoughts, get 'paid' for it while also making friends and learning from different people from different part of the world. Isn't that amazing?

How I fired my bossy boss

Sometimes last year, I needed additional source of income as the income from my online businesses was slow. I applied as a teacher to a school and I was employed immediately. Few days later, I realized I was in something like a modern day slavery. The situation is a reminiscent of how the master will force the slaves to work till their legs cannot carry them no more with whip in his hand, but in this case it was with permanent frown on her face. I already made up my mind to leave the work in December but I needed another source of income to fill the void. Well, providence brought Steemit my way. I made my salary in a liitle over one week on Steemit and I saw the potential to make more. So I fired her despite the fact she added a little extra to my salary to keep me as Mathematics teachers are hard to get. But I need to have my freedom and the satisfaction of firing her...all thanks to Steemit.

I was very tired but getting ready for the next class

My goal on Steemit

Like we say in my WhatsApp group "I came for the Money, I am staying for the community. I became passonate about Steemit because I am seeing the vast potential in it to affect my life and that of those around me positively.
How many people you blessed is the true measure of success. The goal is become influential here so as to help a lot newcomers and minnows just coming up.
Another extension of the goal is to start or support a decentralized offline platform powered by Steem similar to what @stach is doing (we need more of that) where computers, internet connections and electricity (all these are not easy to get for a lot of youth in my country) will be provided and powered by Steem. This will help take a lot of youth off the street, away from social vices and betting shops.

What I am bringing to the community

My whole life is a bag of experiences - inside it you will find that of failure, success, disappointed, contentment, joy, pain, unshed tears, tears of joy, betrayals, loyalty, struggles, euphoria etc. I have much more than an average man. My writings are influenced by experiences and happenings around me. I bring with me and ready to share the good and the bad side so a lot of young folks can learn from them.

Why I deserved to win

Winning will bring my blog more exposures which will be a part or a step forward in achieving my personal goal, my goal of helping as many minnows grow and succeed and impacting the lives of as many youth as I can in my country.

Link to my best post

I will go with this because it is relatively new.

https://steemit.com/life/@golddeejay/argument-a-game-with-no-real-winner-f1e8349af28dc

Thank you @runicar for organising this great contest and everyone for taking time to read.

PS : This is not an introductory post but my entry for @runicar's minnow of the week contest. Since it looks like one, let's call it my #reintroduceyourself post.

Kindly upvote, resteem and comment to share your thoughts.

Sort:  

NEW ON STEEMIT...GET TWO WAY FOLLOW.
Hello and welcome to the community. I followed you and would appreciate a follow back. I'm looking forward to see more posts! Have a great day and have fun. Welcome!

Please upvote, comment, resteem and follow @niteshbaniya
get back to back in touch for upvote

Welcome aboard friend.

You have joined at an excellent time, the platform is young and you have joined something that is growing rapidly - invest your time into the platform and I think you will good results in the upcoming years.

Good luck on Steemit, and God Bless.

Sorry to hear about the loss of your parents.

Thank you so much.

Hey Ayodeji, welcome. Good to know about your boss :D

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly – Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here

welcome to steemit .... greeting from indonesian (^_^)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60796.19
ETH 2601.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57