MINNOW OF THE WEEK: DROP IN THE OCEAN

in #minnowoftheweek7 years ago (edited)

Acknowledgement

I would like to start by showing thanks to the organiser of this contest, @runicar It feels good knowing some do care for we "minnows ". Thank you for giving us the opportunity to be heard.

Introduction

093CD651-FC6B-4540-8C4E-70337735DC70L0001.jpg

My name is Superior David, a passionate and purposeful young man. I'm from the most beautiful and culturally diverse place on earth, Delta State, Nigeria. I'm a graduate of Computer Engineering, University of Benin (UNIBEN), one of the best schools in Nigeria. I'm a freelancer and a musician, I play the acoustic guitar.

How Did I Discover Steemit

My kid bro @otemzi first mentioned the word steemit to me in August, 2017. From his explanation you get paid creating and posting contents, it sounded too good to be true, I felt it was one of those ponzi scheme which was the order of the day then in Nigerian, so I took it for granted. Fast forward to December 15th, 2017 when I came home to spend the Christmas holiday with my family, I saw my bro @otemzi always on his phone and computer, I became curious as to what he is always doing, he told me he was steeming, still not convinced with the whole thing, he made payout and that bought me, oh boy you can't imagine the excitement and eagerness to join, so quickly I signed up and that same day I introduced a couple of my friends @tyrex @owoeye @Neydu @kapable @rolandfred @osteenoshen @akporido to name a few. Getting paid doing what you love to do, I mean nothing beats that feeling. So big thanks to @otemzi

IMG-20171231-WA0005.jpg
me and @otemzi

My journey so far has been amazing, with barely over a month I have more than 700 followers, I've engaged in different communities, won some contests, got to meet and connect fellow steemians, so it has been truly amazing, the only down side is creating a quality post, that takes you hours and sometimes days only to have 5 people read it, I mean it's quite frustrating. I started hearing of terms like dolphins, whales. I was made to understand that's the ranking system here, and I'm still a minnow.

IMG-20180101-WA0015.jpg
with @destinysaid @otemzi @tfame @ejemai and many others at the warri steem meetup

IMG20180121175034971.jpg
with @korexe a steemian I met on discord and we decided to hangout and it turns out we have a lot in common.

Minnow :

Minnows are small freshwater fish.Source

How does a minnow get noticed in the presence of whales and dolphins, for me I think it's active interaction, reading and commenting other people's post, get interactive on discord channel like PAL network, or on telegram like the #airhawk-project interact on steemit.chat, who knows you might connect with a whale.

Why Do I Steem

  1. The primary reason is to make money

  2. Share my views and make my voice heard

  3. Share my experience and knowledge on given topics

  4. Participate in contests

  5. For the fun of it

Some might think steaming to make money shouldn't be the primary reason, well their opinion as we have a lot of platforms like facebook, instagram but everyone is turning to steemit.

Why Do I Deserve To Win

I believe I deserve to win because I've managed to touch lives via steemit, by providing quality and informative contents. When I started steeming, my first post were on designing a resume using adobe indesigm, which will serve useful to anyone seeking a job, it don't matter the industry as I covered three major designs: Traditional layout, Modern layout and creative layout.

Also some of my works have been featured on some pages like the @airhawk-project and also @africaunchained.

The Post I'm Most Proud Of

The post I'm most proud of is one I titled "Afraid to Fail? I talked about life and my experience with failure, hoping to encourage everyone who might have been down as a result of self doubt or fear of failure, I made it known that failure isn't failing on a venture but failing to even try, that's true failure. Although I've written other post with more upvotes but that I would say is my best work this far and I encourage everyone to check it out.

Sort:  

I found out about steemit watching a video on YouTube. Steemit is an amazing platform to express ourselves. We are human being. We will interact with people anyway. So why not use steemit instead of facebook or twitter?

I see people like quora instead of facebook because of content. Here in steemit people share much quality contents. Thank you @admiralsp for sharing this!

Great post you have there

thanks for nominating me.......upvoted your post

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57889.68
ETH 2457.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40