Steemit Strategies - SP: To Lease or Not to Lease

in #minnowhelp6 years ago

hamlet-3013170_1280.jpg

Can Leasing SP Make Me Money?

I get a lot of questions about whether or not leasing SP is good for building your Steemit account. I get the same question about whether they should delegate their SP to various groups, bid-bots, etc. There seems to be a ton of enthusiasm for the whole delegation thing, but surprisingly many people (even those involved in SP delegation and leasing) don't understand the numbers involved in what they are doing. It reminds me of when my mother invested in company because Uncle Darrel said it was great. She didn't know a damn thing about the company, what she might see in returns, etc. But Uncle Darrel said...

You know you can always count on me to tell you what I think even when you don't like it. So today and tomorrow I am going to post on SP Delegation. Today, we will talk about Leasing SP and tomorrow about Delegating Your SP. The following day I will do a post on how to actually go about doing both which will include a video walking you through the process.

Let's get BUSY! (shameless plug for my friends at busy.org - thanks for the upvotes folks)

Deciding if Leasing SP is Best for You

I lease SP. I have been doing it for just over a month now and I'm very excited about the results. If you look at my account (completely transparent Steemit), you will notice that I lease nearly 4500 SP. However, the month before I had delegated nearly all my SP. I wanted to see which method would generate the best results and, to be honest, at the time I didn't know what the hell I was doing. I was just so excited that I had enough SP to delegate! I wanted to try it out. Now I have seen the positives and negatives of both leasing and delegating SP.

Before you decide to do either, you need to understand what you're goals are here on Steemit and understand your level of commitment to managing your account. If you are unclear, then don't do either until you get clear. Otherwise, you might just be wasting your time, energy, money, investment or all of these.

cartoon-3082809_640.png

Reasons to Lease SP

  1. Better (easier) ability to split your voting power if you are above 500 SP (slider bar).
  2. More voting power means you are more influential in the circles that you travel in or want to travel in.
  3. Ability to support more projects/communities that you are a member of or a fan of.
  4. More powerful upvote for your posts and comments.
  5. Better rewards for those that visit, comment and upvote your posts.
  6. Leveraging your Steem for all these things now instead of later.
  7. You believe that the market price for Steem is going to increase.
  8. Significant potential in building your Steemit account.

NOTE - If ANY of These 8 Things Appeal to YOU, Then You Should Look into Leasing SP

People Who Should Not Lease SP

  1. You believe that the market price of Steem will go in the shitter.
  2. You don't post at least 5 times a week.
  3. You don't comment at least 45 times a week.
  4. You don't get on Steem everyday for at least an hour.
  5. You don't have any Steem or money to buy Steem.
  6. You don't believe in upvoting your own posts and comments.

NOTE - If ANY of these 6 Situations Apply to You, then DON'T Lease any SP

hand-995564_640.jpg

How to Calculate the Benefits of Leasing SP

I'm going to use myself as an example because I can show you some marked improvement in my account over the last 30 days since I started leasing SP. Now keep in mind that a portion of that improvement can be attributed to other factors as well so I will give you some hard numbers that you can use in making a decision about leasing. This will be very honest, straight up, and unambiguous unlike many things on the Steemit platform.

Here goes. I leased over 4,000 SP a little over a month ago. At the time, the "vests" were valued less and the price of Steem was less than $3.00 USD, so I got a great bargain because all my upvotes were worth more during the last couple weeks than in the first couple weeks. Good news is that the price of Steem will likely stay about where it is or go up from here, so you didn't miss the boat.

It cost me 125 Steem roughly to renew those leases this week. My cost in USD was about $500.00.
The price for leasing steem for 4 weeks is about 36 SP per Steem. This number goes up and down slightly. Example - Jimbo wants to lease 500 SP, it will cost him 500 divided by 36 which equals approximately 14 Steem. Current price of Steem is about $4.00 USD so that is about $48 (let's say 50 to be safe). So you invest $50, you get to use the SP for 4 weeks. Then it goes away unless you want to renew that lease. Back to my story.

My cost - $500 USD
My leased SP - 4482.111 (you can verify this on Steemworld, my Steemit wallet will show 300 less because I delegate that to Qurator)
Current voting power of that SP is 1.12 STU at 100% voting.
In the slide below, I show the difference between spending my $500 USD on Steem and Powering Up versus Using my Steem to Lease SP. Take a look. Afterwards I will explain the numbers.

Screen Shot 2018-05-04 at 22.24.40.png

First, I show the value of my Voting Power (VP) by adding Steem to my SP by Powering Up and then the VP of leasing the SP with that Steem. Next, I show how much in STU I will get by self-voting 45 times each week for a month (about 60% of the time). For the Power Up scenario, this is 5.40 STU. For Leasing it is 201.60 STU. Then I breakdown the reward payouts for each in SBD and SP. Lastly, I convert the SBD and SP to a US dollar figure based on a Steem price of $4.00 and an SBD price of $3.5. What you see is that I nearly breakeven by leasing, but I DO lose money (about $22 USD).

So Jerry, why would I lease SP if I will lose money? Good question. The answer is that you won't lose money because none of this accounts for the compounding effect of your SP rewards or what you do with your SBD during the month like using upvoting services or bots, both of which I use. Every day, starting from 1 week after the lease, I started receiving that extra SP and SBD in payouts, I then use the SBD to buy more votes and my increased SP is added to my self votes. In the end of this last month, I was significantly ahead on my investment - At least 15% and probably more.

Keep in mind that I didn't even use 100% of the added SP to upvote my posts and comments. Had I used it ONLY to upvote myself the end result would have been - 313.6 STU for a month. That breaks down into 145.8 SBD and 39.2 SP for a total value in USD of $705.6, which is a 40% return on investment.

So before anyone starts screaming about how greedy I am by self-voting 60% (it was actually 51% because I got real generous at the end of the month), think about the fact that my $500 investment provided me an equal return plus some and it also financed upvotes for others especially #payitforward, @qurator, @asapers, @steembasicincome to the tune of over $200 USD in upvotes.

Yes, like I've been saying to everyone since I started these series on Steemit Essentials and Steemit Strategies, helping yourself puts you in a position to help others. Therefore, I highly recommend leasing SP if you meet the above criteria. By leveraging my investment up front, I was able to increase my engagement with more people, upvote more content, explore more posts and authors, make more friends AND make a bigger impact on the communities that I'm involved with. The results are well worth my $500 and more.

money-2724235_640.jpg

But Jerry, I don't have $500. I totally understand, but can you invest $50 to lease 500 SP? If you can, you should do it now at least if you're really serious about building your Steemit account and making a serious go of this platform.

Additionally, the more people that buy Steem and invest in the platform, the more value that Steem has meaning your SP becomes more valuable down the road. Invest in the platform and invest in yourself. Then help others become successful on the platform so that we can all reap the benefits.

See you tomorrow.

Divider Steemit.png

Like this article? Please resteem, upvote and comment.
Don't like it? Comment and tell me why. Let's discuss it.
All intelligent comments get an upvote for effort (even if I disagree).
Send me a copy of one of your posts and I will try to read it quickly.

All images are mine or downloaded from Pixabay.com

Posted using: busy
https://busy.org/i/@energyaddict22

Join Kryptonia and Earn Free Superior Coin while Gaining Upvotes - Click Here

Follow me on:

Facebook - https://www.facebook.com/jr.byers.58
VK - https://vk.com/id185155240
Discord - EnergyAddict#9726

Special thanks for support from @qurator @jumbot @dynamicsteemians @newbieresteem @resteemit @asapers #payitforward - @thedarkhose, @lynnecoyle1, @wolfhart #kryptonia #superiorcoin @sydesjokes

Divider Steemit.png

SBI banner.png

smartsteem_banner.8ac637d.gif

Kryptonia1.png

DQmSQnxEBigCNXYe3hUB5ujRMmAvq1r851wGFc5LwZTkfRv_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! You received a 10% upvote from @kryptoniabot.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

  1. Run a task on Kryptonia.
    *For those who want to join the growing community, get your free account here: Kryptonia Account
  2. Use the tags KRYPTONIA & SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post for 100% vote.
  3. Steemit reputation score above 25.

Congratulations! You received a 10% upvote from @kryptoniabot.

Remember to receive votes from @kryptoniabot

  1. Run a task on Kryptonia.
    *For those who want to join the growing community, get your free account here: Kryptonia Account
  2. Use the tags KRYPTONIA & SUPERIORCOIN in your Steemit post for 100% vote.
  3. Steemit reputation score above 25.

You got a 14.29% Upvote and Resteem from @ebargains, as well as upvotes from our curation trail followers!

If you are looking to earn a passive no hassle return on your Steem Power, delegate your SP to @ebargains by clicking on one of the ready to delegate links:
50SP | 100SP | 250SP | 500SP | 1000SP | 5000SP | Custom Amount

You will earn 80% of the voting service's earnings based on your delegated SP's prorated share of the service's SP pool daily! That is up to 38.5% APR! You can also undelegate at anytime.

We are also a very profitable curation trail leader on https://steemauto.com/. Follow @ebargains today and earn more on curation rewards!

Please excuse my ignorance, but are there any good ways to lease some steempower other than blocktrades and minnowsupport? I'd be interested in leasing some, but blocktrades does not give a good deal and on minnowsupport I made already a few decent offers but did not get any takers...

This is a great question and I addressed it in the video of part 3 on the subject. Unfortunately, I don't know of any way to get a lease of delegation other than to contact people directly. Even then, there is some risk as they can "pull" their delegation at anytime and you could be stuck with a loss. This is why I like Minnowbooster because I can set my price and I know that the delegation won't be pulled from me without a refund of my payment. Since Minnowbooster pays the "delegator" daily for the lease, they would immediately lose their daily payment and likely piss off some people with the power to flag them significantly in the future.

I am always on the lookout for other services so if you find any, please share them with me so I can do a review. It would be much appreciated.

Thanks again for stopping by and commenting. Hope to see more of you. All the best.

Thanks for your reply! Guess I'll try my luck with minnowbooster again then :)

How does a sick doctor try to help another doctor? How do we say that we love our neighbor if we do not love ourselves ...?

Your point of view is essentially that. If we want to flourish in steemit, we have to make an action plan that involves you directly, that benefits you so that you grow; By being developed, you can influence others and benefit them.

In steemit, there are the necessary tools to advance, but we must study the road, set goals; practice trial-error; The feedback will give us the guidelines to correct along the way.

We have to take risks, put aside fear and take decisive actions.

This is a very sound synopsis of what I've been trying to impress upon people that read my posts. I started doing much more good within the community once I was better positioned to do so. If I can continue to grow, then I can help on a larger scale. Thanks so much for your support and encouragement. All the best.

I really appreciate all the "tutorials" your making. Sounds like a good ROI at the end-

My pleasure. I'm glad you continue to join us here. Please throw out any questions you have and share your experiences.

yep! Just realized today, that you're a dynamicsteemian, too !

great and interesting post!..thnx.

Thanks for stopping by my friend!

That my friend is an extremely informational post. Especially to a fairly newbie like myself. I am breaking my butt, trying to build my account up. I’m going to look into this. Thank you👍

Thanks for stopping by and commenting and especially for the kind words. I'm glad it has some value even to people well above 50 Reputation. Let me know about results and if you have any questions. Either way, keep in touch.

Actually have not had thoughts of leasing my SP because am still learning on here and i don't know much about the platform yet......but i think i'll have to try this out sometime and see if it will work for me.
But for now i don't have much to lease
@bitcoinpaul #kryptonia

Thanks for coming by the post and supporting it. It is always good to see you. Keep building up your SBD and your account and soon you'll be in a position to look at leasing. Especially since you are very active on the platform. All the bests to you.

Thank you for the motivating words sir

Wow. very good your analysis. I'm just starting. and I would like to raise my voting power but I really do not have to invest so I have gone little by little. I'm from Venezuela and getting USD here is a bit difficult. So what to invest has to be with what I've earned in steemit ... I've thought about robots but I do not think it's 100% sure ... you'll know some reliable and ask for little SBD? Thanks for sharing your experience. It is a very good reference to take into account.. At the end you mention that I sent a copy of my publication ... if I could get into my blog it would liquefy I would appreciate ... and I was also struck by the Kryptonia ... What is it about? Is it something like steemit? Thanks in advance for your reply. Have a good day.

Hello. Thanks for stopping by and asking really good questions. Let's start from the end and work backward to the beginning of your comment.

Kryptonia - See my post here
This is a platform where you get another crypto currency for completing tasks like visiting people's Steemit posts. In return, you can pay them in these coins (which you earned for free) to visit your posts. Cool system. Use my link here to register

I will be writing a post on low-cost voting bots with profitable payouts. However, here is one of my favorites that I like to support - @goldenwhale. You can send them as little as .05 SBD and get a profitable upvote. I don't recommend sending more than .07. I use them even though I don't need their upvote because I like to support small bots. Another one is @mitsuko and they even give you a resteem.

Keep reading my posts over the next few days and I will be giving some details of my upvote strategies using bots and pay for vote services as well as resteems. Also, go back and read my other posts about tools and strategies. These are all titled Steemit Essentials and Steemit Strategies.

I'm very pleased you stopped by and hope to see more of you. Let me know when you have questions. All the best to you.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63425.40
ETH 3253.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88