Celebrating 2500

in #minnowbooster6 years ago (edited)

I've seen celebrations of follower count and rep and lots of other meaningless-but-pretty numbers around here, and never really wanted to do one myself. But tonight I'm going to, cause I got my own essentially-meaningless milestone today: I invited my 2500th user to the @minnowbooster Whitelist.


wl2500.png

MB doesn't give a full count - I have one in a spreadsheet - but each page of the whitelist-activity list is 25 users, and today I broke 100 pages. I had taken a few days off to do some automation work on various projects, and came back with 250 invites over the last day or so to hit the milestone.

One of the things I've been automating is checking whether a user is already on the whitelist before they go onto the list that I have to put in the form on the website, which is saving me a lot of time. As the whitelist gets larger it was getting to be pretty common that I would invite someone who was already on the list, or even that I had already invited and forgot. Now I have an artificial memory to do that for me.

But it surprised me that I wasn't able to generate a full list of members from the blockchain. When a user is accepted to the list, the @minnowbooster account sends them a very specific boilerplate memo, and I expected that tracing back their transaction history for who those memos were sent to would get me every whitelist user. But it hasn't. Maybe I'm doing things wrong - I'm still very new to both Python and Steempy, and that was the first thing I did - but in any case I was only able to generate a large subset of the whitelist roster. Anyway, that's been enough for some good improvement in the time it takes to invite users, and as I get error messages the list will grow.

As for the next milestone, well, it's not invites that are keeping me from it.


wl2500_2.png

I've been getting new invites faster than I can find new users for several weeks, now, and they just keep piling up. If we get an influx of good new users with the account creation changes in HF20, I'm going to be ready.

Special thanks to the active voters for making this possible.

Sort:  

Awesome job. Still waiting to get whitelisted myself(don't use them enough to ask). I think someone used an invite on me though, and it said my application status was pending.

Still does. I don't have you in my voting bucket, though.

Voting bucket?

MB split voting up so that not all voters see all invited users anymore - every invited user goes into one of three voting buckets, which 1/3 of voters can see. They're periodically reshuffled in hopes that no one spends too much time on the list.

Ah, I remember reading somewhere that MB whitelist was whitelisted authors picking others to add to the list(correct me if I'm wrong). Hopefully someone decides to accept me. Would like to be whitelisted even if I never use them.

You're basically right. One whitelisted author has to invite you, and then five have to vote to accept you. I do lots and lots of the inviting, and other people are doing lots and lots of the voting.

If I get accepted, I'll probably end up doing a ton of voting the first week and then slowly start doing less and less. Whats the incentive to invite and to vote?

Invites get 1% commission on the user's lifetime vote buys. Votes get a smaller percentage depending on how many there are.

Can you explain whitelisting for me? It's something I see mentioned, but it's it something someone had to be invited to or can they apply?

I ask because I recently realised ocd doesn't seem to be curating any more, but their bot, ocdb, pops up occasionally and I noticed it said only for whitelisted members. Btw, do you know exactly what's happening with ocd? Are they still curating?

You're already on Minnowbooster's. @ocdb has a different whitelist, and while I'm on it I have no idea how it works.

The @ocd account stopped curating a while ago, and has a pretty small collection of people it votes on now. Even when they were active I never got much of a sense of how the organization worked, and now it's entirely opaque.

Thanks Tim. That's a shame we've lost what looked to be a promising curation team for the small guys. I'll have to stop recommending the resteem tag.

Haha! Thanks to your constant efforts @tcpolymath, I also achieved a little milestone. I am in the list of top 5 voters. Going strong at number 3. I think it's a great way to give power to brilliant content creators and also a decent incentive for people like you and I. All thanks to @minnowbooster team.

I think we should drop in a suggestion to them. They should display a list of top Inviters. I am damn sure you would be in top five, most probably the numero uno :-D

I'd rather they spent their development time on other things, really.

I'd rather they spent
Their development time on
Other things, really.

                 - tcpolymath


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

hello apologize friend will be that you can help me I need your help will be that you can help me with 2 or 1 style please I need it, thank you and I apologize for the inconvenience

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54483.11
ETH 2297.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28