Steemit Review: Upvoting with MinnowBooster Works!

in #minnowbooster7 years ago (edited)

My first experience using the MinnowBooster bot was a complete success!

The MinnowBooster bot @minnowbooster is a vote bot much like @randowhale, with one major difference. It gives you a predicible upvote return in proportion to your spending.

From my recent experience working with it today I can confirm that it works exactly as advertised in regard to it's ability to upvote your posts and it actually gives you a higher return than the amount spent.

How does MinnowBooster work for Upvotes?

According to documentation found in an article released by @minnowbooster

"To request upvotes from the @minnowbooster bot just send SBD (at least 0.1 SBD) to @minnowbooster and receive an upvote worth up to 5 times what you paid. Add the post or comment url as memo.

Please check the bot's voting power at https://steemd.com/@minnowbooster because the bot's AI autoregulates its Voting Power to ensure the bot does not get drained.

At 100% voting power the bot will give your nominated URL an upvote worth 5 times what you paid in, with the received vote value decreasing proportionately as VP decreases, ie 80% VP yields 4 times and 60% VP 3 times, right down to breakeven at 20% VP and a loss if you pay in when the bot has less than 20% VP. (These are gross percentage values, please take into account that on Steem 25% of the post value goes to the curators, in which case the NETT breakeven is actually at 26.67% VP)"

Does it actually work?

Yes it does and I'm completely confident in recommending it as I've just tested the process today and can confirm it performs wonderfully and exactly as advertised. Let me walk you through my experience.

The MinnowBooster Upvote Process

Step One

The first thing I did was go to my blog page and find an article that I would like to have upvoted by MinnowBooster. I picked a recent article I had written about travel in Thailand.

As you can see this is an article that currently had an upvote value of $0.43 based on the votes it had already received.

I clicked on this article and copied the link url for the post to be pasted in the memo section when I was ready to make my payment of SBD to MinnowBooster.

Step Two

Next, I went to my wallet and found my SBD balance. I clicked on the arrow and selected the transfer option. I was presented with this screen:

I didn't have much to send at the time because normally I like to use most of my SBD for powering up. I was able to send a small payment to MinnowBooster in the amount of 1.072 SBD.

The Final Step

The last part was the hardest.... I had to wait to receive my upvote. Amazingly by the time I had refreshed my screen, I had been upvoted by MinnowBooster!

Remember the original balance of upvotes was $0.43 and now I had a new balance of $2.01. This was almost 50% more than I had sent the MinnowBooster bot! Now just imagine if I had send it $10 worth of SBD. That would be worth your time wouldn't it? What about $100 of SBD?

Guess what, that's not all... After receiving the vote payment I received a bonus prize as well. Get this, each upvote comes with an amazing upgoat!

Who doesn't love an upgoat right??

Final Thoughts

Based on the outcome I have received, I will definitely be using MinnowBooster again. In addition there are several other useful things MinnowBooster can do which I will discuss in future articles.

Keep in mind that for you to receive the maximum value from this service you will want to select posts that are close to the 7 day expiration date but before the 12 hour cutoff to reduce the possibility of vote deflation. If you decide to use MinnowBooster on an article on the 6th day after the 12 hour cutoff your SBD will be lost forever so be careful!

The MinnowBooster works!

If you have any comments or questions about this process, feel free to contact me and leave feedback below!

For more information about the capabilities of MinnowBooster, please consider reading this article:

https://steemit.com/minnowbooster/@minnowbooster/introducing-minnowbooster-beta

Sources:

@minnowbooster

Sort:  

Thank You for the Interesting review. I was wondering do you remember the voting power of the bot before you performed this test?

Thats a good question. I may have rushed into this post without looking at that. I'll try to see if I can come up with an answer for you.

Thanks for sharing! The bot's current voting power is very low though, near the critical break-even point, so I think there is currently little value in using it...

This just gives the developers incentive to improve the system even more! I expect this to be a work in progress.

Great write up mate - really like your writing style. Just a thought - maybe point out that people should be voting near the 7 day payout, but before the 12 hour cutoff, or they lose their SBD ... also I think it needs a screen of the #upgoat you received (see replies to the post) XD

No problem. Happy to make those changes! Thanks for the thorough read and feedback.

Not a problem Lachy - great work, keep it up!

Just a thought... a conservatory 14 hours before the payout would be a bit more safe.

Definitely, no point cutting it too close!

is it working today - 7/11

Cool service, I'm gonna try it for sure!

Give it a shot friend!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by locke from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Thanks MinnowSupport! You guys are great!

Still not all clear on the ins and outs of the upvoting, isn't it better in the long run to change to Steam power?

I think a mixed strategy is best... keep some sbd or steem around for minnowbooster and randowhale and convert a modest percentage to steem power every month. Perhaps 25%?

yah. not too shabby!

I can not upvote now. my upvote sucks . Hope you enjoy it. Sorry I realised that I should have waited .. it is too early and the rewards will fall until the 7th day .. anyway . Great post! Followed you! :D

Thanks IG. Followed you mate.

Thank you for the detailed instructions - so it makes sense to upvote on the 6th day. Let me make few experiments as well. That's sooo cool! :)

Edit: Hey, it really works. To be on the safe side I'll be choosing posts on their 5th day.

Good idea! Best of luck with the booster!

Great news! Be warned at the time of payout it may result in a loss if vp isnt high enough.

Hm,.. with the new changes it's hard to make it work for us again. At the current rules voting power should be at least 50%. And most of the times I've never seen something higher than 39.39%.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64274.68
ETH 3492.70
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55