You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: MinnowBooster - Updated Terms of Service (ToS)

in #minnowbooster6 years ago

I disagree with part of your terms. I'm against upvoting poor quality content and vote farming because that generally makes the steemit world a worse place, but why would you put restrictions on the type of content people produce? Who cares if someone wants to write about religion or politics.

Yeah, I get you can do whatever you want, but I find a clause for "Forbidden Topics" to be a bit much.

Sort:  

Since we sell votes of users, we want to protect them from having their vote on things they may not agree with. So if you buy the vote of someone who disagrees with you on a controversial topic, we don't want them finding themselves upvoting stuff the disagree with.

I agree that politics if done respectful are good for steem. But we have to protect our sellers in that regard.

Mmmmh. This is a tricky one. I think that politics is an interesting topic and it seems to me that an article that expresses political views can trigger a lively discussion with many comments which is good for Steemit and the community.

The other thing is; if someone decides to sell their votes through minnowbooster, doesn't that inheritably have the consequence that your vote goes to content you may not like or may disagree with. If this is an issue then maybe you shouldn't sell your vote.

But as I said; it's a tricky one. I think MB is taking some big steps in battling spam and making Steemit better and I applaude you for it.

I guess I can see that. I can't really get behind the whole vote selling thing. I loan out steem power through your platform, and I have a hard time even coming to terms with that. I probably spent more time researching the users applying for the loans than the interest is worth, and I still don't feel good about it. But, that's how due diligence works sometimes. If I couldn't do some sort of due diligence myself, I just wouldn't get involved.

But, I'm glad you are running a responsible service and putting quality controls in place. I appreciate that as a steemian and human being.

Since we sell votes of users, we want to protect them from having their vote on things they may not agree with.

Aha, it makes sense now! I'd thought Minnowbooster was simply acting on inputs from... Taliban. If not from Trump.

How about letting the vote-sellers tick boxes, to decide what forbiddance should apply to their vote? Perhaps politics, religion and activism-against-violence shouldn't be ostracized, if the platform is meant for mass adoption?

Disclaimer: I have used MinnowBooster just once and it was fantastic. It was rule-compliant, if I may add. :)

We are adding more and more tools to it so sellers get more control over what they sell. We are currently focusing on reducing the abuse of our bot and having votes available for when genuine users need them.

I think well articulated political and religious posts are valuable to the community because they promote critical thinking and open debate/activity. I also disagree with those restrictions. Glad I'm not alone there.

Well these are the topics that get the community offended and Minnowbooster has always been a community that helps another community thats why these rules were set

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56325.56
ETH 2374.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.33