The Minnow Report #1 - Our Talented NEW Posters You May Have Missed (8/3/16)

We miss so many great authors here on Steemit!

At 40,000 users and climbing, so many of our great new posting talent are getting consistently lost in a sea of content from users we are used to seeing climb to the top. In an attention economy like ours, this is bound to happen. But, it doesn't always have to be this way.

Therefore with this article, I am launching The #minnow-report. The goal each week will be to feature up to five authors I think were passed over at first glance and deserve a second chance look. For record keeping purposes, I will informally define a "minnow" author as someone having earned less than $1M total vests (Approximately 90% of all accounts, or about $600 at the time of this post).

If the author has done an #introduceyourself post, I will default to using one of their photos in their description. I will also point out a post, or series of posts I enjoyed from them the most.

My hope here is to spread the attention love for a very specific subset of our overall population. In the process, Each featured minnow will receive 20% of all SBD generated from every Minnow Report post. While these authors may have written several great pieces, I will always select one post I enjoyed the most from each author to feature each time.

Therefore, without further ado, please consider showing each of the following minnows some love!

@krystle

Post that stands out:

Original Steemit Fiction Series -- six parts in total

Krystle is from Australia and is currently focusing on sharing her awesome writing talents with the world! She has shared her stories of her family with us and has even highlighted along the way her struggles of being a mother of a child on the autism spectrum. Her fantasy series curated specifically for Steemit is currently on its 6th part, and going strong. Her tale is one of fantasy, set in a distant kingdom with mysterious enemies and two protagonists on the run for their lives. Very addictive read! @krystle, through her #introduceyourself post, was admittedly nervous to put this piece out there. I don't speak for all of Steemit, but thank you for doing so!

@sarah.riedel

Post that stands out:

What I saw from 5th Avenue and 10th at 09:59 09/11/2001

@sarah.riedel is based out of New York City. She is a NYU graduate with a degree in journalism with a passion for modeling and blogging about food. She has many unique and amazing posts on these topics, but what touched me the most was her gripping account of one of greatest tragedies of the 21st century. She was less than 20 blocks away from the twin towers when they went down. She is an amazing and talented artist, but I just happened to find this article one of her most gripping reads.

@uglycasanova

Post that stands out:

[VIDEO] The Vigeland Mausoleum: An eerie and beautiful room with 15 seconds of natural reverberation, and me and some friends got to play music there!

@uglycasanova has not yet done an #introduceyourself, but you almost feel like you can learn so much about him through his passion in music! This music in this video from his highlighted post is from one of his several really cool music videos posted on his timeline.

The music in this particular venue was unlike anything I have ever heard. This author has also put out several original pieces of their own using other electronic equipment. @uglycasanova is clearly very talented and passionate at his craft.

@surfermarly

Post that stands out:

Ocean and Earth: What surfing teaches us for life even if you aren´t a surfer - 6 life lessons

@surfermarly is Marlene, a native of the Canary Islands. She has written several amazing posts about her travels and life lessons learned as a surfer. As a teacher in Midwestern America, this is a perspective I do not really get much of. It is really refreshing to see someone just going out there and really living their life and also very grounded in sharing their lessons along the way. There was a lot of care and love that was put into her highlighted post, and really, all of her posts.

That's it for this week! Please tune in next week for our newest batch!

Have a minnow you think should be featured? Please message me at @team.leibniz on steemit.chat and I will give it a look. Please also consider following each of the users above to spread the love! Remember, everyone is a minnow here at some point, be excellent to each other!

Sort:  

Wow @team-leibniz thank you so much I can't believe you included me in this post, I am seriously stoked.

Thanks for such an amazing mini - review, this is the first I've ever had so I couldn't be happier. Cheers you made my day :D

Seriously, you are doing an amazing job! Keep finding wonderful things to be writing about, you are quite good at it!

Very good! I look forward to upcoming issues of the minnow report.

This is so wonderful !!! I still overlook so many awesome women ! Some of
those stories I did upvote and read and already follow but I wish the platform would make it easier to find their posts 🌸

This is great! Thanks for trying to bring more visibility to some of us minnows :) I had seen a few of these posts and knew they hadn't received the attention they deserved. Hopefully they can get some more upvotes.

This is awesome :) I hope it catches on. Thanks for doing this :)

Wow! This Minnow Report has real potential. I'm glad that there are avenues to promote minnows like us so that we could be noticed. Curious though, aside from you evaluating who would be featured, is there any other metric to be considered? Currently, I don't have enough content to be featured but I have planned posts in place that hopefully could be grounds enough to be considered here.

I don't currently have any other metric other than those discussed, but if you would like to point out content of yours, or any other user, please message me on steemit.chat! (@team.leibniz)

Right now I really don't have tons to offer, so I'm going by recognition of others. Thanks for letting me know about that option though!

I tried to do something like this! Glad to see you got some great new users to have a bigger platform to share. I guess I am a minnow who ate enough to pass out pennies. Take a look at this proposal if you have the time Decentralized Steemit Marketplace

Thank you soooo much for including my blog!!! What a beautiful way to promote us. I feel deeply honored to be among so talented writers and am absolutely motivated to provide you with more stories from the beach :-) Muchas gracias!!!!!

De nada! You have and awesome blog and have shared so many cool things with the community! Can't wait for more of your posts!

Great initiative !! Thanks a lot. This is a great idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54819.76
ETH 2295.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31