You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Some help with building a mining rig?

in #mining7 years ago

Word of advice... rememeber the only point in containing the GPUs in a closed case is to contain the hot air, so you can remove it efficiently via an isolated venting system.

Good luck trying to find the cards mate AMD globally sold our in a week! Nvidia are trying now but they have a BS statement I hear, that they will approach large miners first with the new P104-100/P106-100 GPUs. so unless you plan to buy 1000 + cards in a single order then theres no luck mate :(

Really annoying and hoping Nvidia will not isolate the sales like this.

Sort:  

Yeah I've heard that too, but I haven't seen it on an official statement from NVidia, so I'm of the opinion that it's bs for now. There's a few websites already "selling" the Pallit ones, which again, I'm inclined to call bs on.
However, the choice of going with 3 x ASUS 1060 3Gb for now seems to be my best bet. There's a lot of people on various message boards etc with proof that it's mining at 21-23Mhs with a bit of tweaking.

Thanks for the heads up on the heat thing. That's where I'm considering a liquid cooling option. By my estimations, I could have liquid cooling for the 3 GPUs, which would have 2 fans on the top of the chassis venting the heat. I THINK it'll allow me to still have everything in a neat little case, while still having sufficient cooling. My other background is in 3d work (architectural vizualisation), and that solution has been proven to be very efficient, so I don't see why it wouldn't work here.

Again, many thanks for the tips and help!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64467.84
ETH 3492.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54